PDA

View Full Version : Motorcycle advice?

farnhamstj
06-09-2009, 09:35 PM
Anyone ride off pavement? I'm new to moto's. My friends ride a ktm450 and a honda 450x. I totally suck. I've riden 3 days on a honda 250 on cobblestone and dirtroads six years ago. And One day single track on a Yamaha 450 two weeks ago. I estimate I droped the bike a good 30 times in 35miles. I only went over the bars twice so I figure I'm doing pretty good. I started the day unsure of of the shifting, rocked it for a little while at lunch, caught a little air, did some little wheelies, then I got tired so I started crashing again. So, all logic tells me I should never ride a bike again. Instead I went on-line and purchased full protective gear head to toe. I think I'm throwing all sense out and buy a Honda 450x, 05-07 Any advice?

jettaglxdriver
06-09-2009, 10:05 PM
Have fun.

rover67
06-09-2009, 10:26 PM
when you learn to ride dirt you fall. it's part of it.

You'll love it more and more the faster you get untill it's all you want to do.

I used to ride 250cc honda 2 strokes, but now it seems like the world is moving to 4 strokes.

So when you get out there.. remember.. wear your chest protector, wear your knee and shin guards, put on the helmet and goggles, put bark busters on whatever you buy, and dont ride drunk.

And no matter what you do put on a helmet even if it is to just ride down the street to show whoever it is what you bought. That's when you really hurt yourself.

Sounds like you had a great time out there. Im jealous. Get ready to spend all week recovering from a weekend full of riding.. only to torture your body again. You'll love it.

nuclearlemon
06-09-2009, 10:37 PM
i used to love it, although i was more on the slow side. bad match for my bike, an old it175e, which required constantly being on the pipe hard.