PDA

View Full Version : What should my first mod be?

Swoop
06-17-2009, 11:37 AM
Hi Everyone,

I've owned a 1999 4Runner and a 2003 4Runner and am now looking to purchase and older 4Runner with a manual transmission and turn it into a souped up offroad machine. :)

I'm looking at a 1997 4Runner and a 1994 4Runner and wanted to ask a few questions of you guys as I am a total noob when it comes to offroading and modding 4Runners. ;)

First, what should be my first mod for this? A lift? If so, how much of a lift and how much would something like that cost?

Second, is a 1994 4Runner with a 3-inch lift already in place and 186,000+ miles for $5,000 a decent purchase?

Third, where is a good place to hunt for 4Runner rigs already modded and for sale? Do you know of anyone selling one that has a manual transmission and is under $6,000?

Thanks for any info you can offer. I really appreciate it and look forward to being a part of your excursions sometime very soon!

-Swoop (Alan)

AxleIke
06-17-2009, 12:04 PM
Locker if it doesn't already have it. After that, some armor to protect the belly, and front/doors.

Hulk
06-17-2009, 12:28 PM
Sliders are always a good first mod too.

Might want to check out YotaTech:
http://yotatech.com/

Tch2fly
06-17-2009, 01:30 PM
The 3.0 motor 4 runners (95-older) will be a better fit for your budget but they are much less desirable than the 96-newer with 3.4 motors

There is a 1998 4R with supercharged 3.4 at Affordable Auto Center in Englewood for $5K (over 200k miles) so there are deals on newer trucks if you don't mind the miles.

Look at ToyTec for affordable lift kits.

Jacket
06-17-2009, 01:41 PM
I would focus my attention on a 3rd gen (95 - 2000) 4Runner with a factory E-locker in the rear. Buying it with the locker already in place allows you to use your mod money for sliders and other upgrades.

Swoop
06-17-2009, 02:43 PM