PDA

View Full Version : Front drive shaft, I need some help.

Amendment44
08-15-2009, 04:08 PM
I've been building up my rig, and its soo close to being legit, but i've run into a problem.

My front drive shaft is too short.

I looked up getting one built and Tom Woods wants 450$!

I'm out of cash and this seems excessive when the fastest I go is like 15 on the trail.

I've seen a lot of write ups on people makeing square drive shafts.

Ive weighed the pros and con's and I want to go this route.

Although I only have a little 120amp mig welder. And I'm not very good with it at all.

Has anyone built one of these before? or perhaps you have a beast of a welder and would like to try?

I would surely pay you for your time. and do most of the work. And I wont forget the beer. :beer:

A little bit about my rig.

I got an 84 4runner. solid axel with 5.29 gearing
welded lockers front and rear with 37's.

with my articulation I'm guessing i need about 6'' of travel

Ive been working on this truck for awhile now and am very excited to get this thing finished and do some wheeling. I went to Rising Sun Rally a couple weeks ago and seeing all your rigs got me excited. I would like to start getting involved with you guys.

I can be reached at Blazedrifter3@yahoo.com or 970-219-0310 -Matt

Chris
08-15-2009, 05:21 PM
Save yourself about $350 and use these guys:

Englewood Driveshaft
3364 1/2 South Broadway (alley entrance)
Englewood, CO 80113
303-781-0554

Uncle Ben
08-15-2009, 05:50 PM
Don't do the square driveshaft thang! Central and Southside go to Englewood Driveline and Northside go to Driveline Service of Boulder! I have used Tom Wood shafts before and they are worth the money if you play on big rocks really hard, but you will pay for a "Woody!"

Air Randy
08-15-2009, 07:08 PM
I just had Rocky Mtn Driveline lengthen my rear shaft last week, it took 1 day and was $145.00. They're at 4210 Tennyson.

EWheeler
08-15-2009, 09:17 PM
Save yourself about $350 and use these guys: