PDA

View Full Version : Alignment Spec - FJ60 35's

rover67
09-02-2009, 09:51 AM
Hello All,

I thought I'd throw this out there since I am going to get the truck aligned professionally today... well if you can call a toe adjustment an alignment.

I just got done with the front axle rebuild and Hi Steer Install.

So, the truck is an Spring under FJ60 with 35's, Hi Steer, OME Heavies, and long shackles on it, and not a lot of Camber. The camber is not changing (already have the diff shimmed where I want it, and it tracked OK with the original alignment), but I want them to set the toe right.

So.. What should the toe be set at? I am sure they will look up the factory specs for an '85 FJ60 and set it at that, but I couldn't find the spec in the manual (looked for a while, but couldn't find it) so I don''t know what it is. I am also curious if the toe should be any different that factory since the truck is now obviuosly not factory.

I have zero experience with alignments on trucks like this and was just wondering if the toe needed to be different ot compensate or "help" with the bigger tires/lift.

Thanks!
Marco

Beater
09-02-2009, 09:56 AM
Tire's have no effect on allignment, as it is measured at the rim, as long as tire pressure is uniform.

Bikeman
09-02-2009, 10:16 AM
I think you are meaning caster and not camber. Camber is when your tires are like this: / \. Lift shackles will add caster, and shims under the spring perches bring it back down. My lifted Super Duty with lift shackles had to use a 2 degree shim under the leaf springs. Generally, trucks with bigger tires like 3-5 degrees of caster. Toe in on most anything is about 1/8", which I set mine to and have had my other vehicles set to whether it was an IFS, Superduty, etc.

rover67
09-02-2009, 10:24 AM
Oops yeah sorry meant caster, that's fixed where I want it. I am pretty used to adjusting camber.. musta slipped out.