PDA

View Full Version : 3/4" torque wrench needed!


Hulk
09-03-2009, 07:07 PM
Anyone have a 3/4" torque wrench I can borrow? I searched for one on the Sears web site (http://www.sears.com/shc/s/search_10153_12605?keyword=torque++wrench+3%2F4&x=0&y=0), and they start at $600. :eek:

I'm a fan of the theory that any project should require the purchase of a new tool, but this is beyond my budget.

Hulk
09-03-2009, 07:10 PM
Harbor Freight has one for $140.

3/4" Drive 42" Reach Torque Wrench (http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=3293)

That's certainly a better price than Sears!

bh4rnnr
09-03-2009, 07:14 PM
Anyone have a 3/4" torque wrench I can borrow? I searched for one on the Sears web site (http://www.sears.com/shc/s/search_10153_12605?keyword=torque++wrench+3%2F4&x=0&y=0), and they start at $600. :eek:

I'm a fan of the theory that any project should require the purchase of a new tool, but this is beyond my budget.

Matt, you can borrow my Digital Snap On Torque Wrench. Could use a good work out, may need to replace the Batteries though.

Hulk
09-03-2009, 09:04 PM
Matt, you can borrow my Digital Snap On Torque Wrench. Could use a good work out, may need to replace the Batteries though.

Perry, if it's a 3/4" torque wrench, that would be great. I need one that will torque to 305 ft. lbs.

I already own a 3/8" and 1/2" torque wrench.

Uncle Ben
09-03-2009, 10:05 PM
Perry, if it's a 3/4" torque wrench, that would be great. I need one that will torque to 305 ft. lbs.

I already own a 3/8" and 1/2" torque wrench.

My Snap-On 1/2" drive torque wrench goes to 330#'s

Uncle Ben
09-03-2009, 10:14 PM
Isn't a "3/4" torque wrench" what Dom nearly killed the guy with who ran his dad off the track in Fast and Furious? That is one of those lines that just makes you roll your eyes and laugh out loud! Guess Torretos dad must have been racing the tractor/trailer Nascar circuit! :lmao::lmao::lmao::lmao:

Inukshuk
09-04-2009, 11:11 AM
Autozone tool rental/loaner program?

BTW, what are you torquing?

Rock Dog
09-04-2009, 02:34 PM
It is to torque the bolt that holds the pulley on the crank... he is gonna swap across the SC, and needs to swap over the pully..... i just found out that sucker needs to be 305# :eek::eek::eek:

TIMZTOY
09-05-2009, 08:13 PM
your welcome to use my brand new snap-on digital 1/2" belive it goes to 600 not sure, never needed I over 250 but know it will do way past 305.
FYI the re tale are crap and very Inaccurate. Because they get droped often and the HF ain't that great either

Hulk
09-08-2009, 09:52 AM
your welcome to use my brand new snap-on digital 1/2" belive it goes to 600 not sure, never needed I over 250 but know it will do way past 305.
FYI the re tale are crap and very Inaccurate. Because they get droped often and the HF ain't that great either

Cool. Where you at? I may need it this coming weekend.

jettaglxdriver
09-21-2009, 03:46 PM
I have heard you are only supposed to buy good torque wrenches for years. I have a autoparts store 1/2 drive 150ftlb wrench I got for like $40. I used to work at W.C. Woods making freezers and we had a QC lab that had a torque wrench calibrator and I tested mine 3 times over about 2 years and every it was within a pound or two. I figured that was accurate enough for me.