PDA

View Full Version : Sometimes I hate computers


bh4rnnr
11-16-2009, 09:15 PM
So this week my computer decided to drop my external hard drive, inculding the software for no reason:rant::rant:.

Did I mention :rant::rant::confused::rolleyes:

farnhamstj
11-17-2009, 08:04 AM
Did you try unplugging it and plugging it back it? Did you try pounding on the keyboard with both fists? Swearing loudly while shaking the monitor?

jettaglxdriver
11-17-2009, 08:49 AM
LOL we were laughing at a co-worker the other day. We heard him hitting his mouse on his desk and grumbling. It is a wireless optical mouse so we asked him if his batterys were dead. They were. I bet if he had kept hitting it on the desk it would have eventually recharged those batteries.

bh4rnnr
11-17-2009, 11:50 AM
Did you try unplugging it and plugging it back it? Did you try pounding on the keyboard with both fists? Swearing loudly while shaking the monitor?

Yep, tested a few other USB ports with no luck. Have not tried the others though. was meesing with it the other night, got fed up, so I distracted my self with the Ham practice test and a :beer: from Dixons.

Going to re-upload the software this week..... :rolleyes:

pmccumber
11-18-2009, 08:10 AM
Before you ditch it, I'd pull it apart. It has to be a SATA drive underneath it. And I'm guessing they just built a chassis and dropped one of their standard drives in that chassis. What I'm getting at is the problem is probably power, unless you can hear and feel it spinning. If you can pull the drive, cable it, and power it on a regular desktop, you can get your data off it.

Red_Chili
11-18-2009, 09:51 AM
FWIW, computers *can* be fixed.

I am rather proud of myself. Our AOC flatscreen we've had for 3 years or so, went dark. Got another flat panel and struggled to get the new digital video card working. No joy. Called Dell support and they and I went through troubleshooting... it wasn't the card. There are only so many links in the chain, so the motherboard was suspect, but needed to rule out the monitor.

Being short of time and long of chores, it was a while before I addressed it by finding a second monitor to test. Lo and behold, some fella on the other end of a Google search had an AOC monitor go dark on him. He stumbled into a fix by replacing the power supply capzapitors (without him really knowing what they were or how they worked... he just noticed they were a bit swollen).

Darned if I didn't find some slightly pregnant electrolytic capacitors. A trip to Radio Shack later, replaced them, put the thing back together... and voila! Let there be (back)light.

Now I had a monitor to test with. Called Dell back up, went through the routine, and I now have a reconditioned motherboard sitting in a box at home crying to be put into a computer. Free. Gratis. The used computer had some gold support left on it.

Then I will have two monitors too. My wife doesn't see the sense of it, but I give her two days before she can't live without it.

Computers... 4Runners... all pretty much the same. :lmao:

bh4rnnr
11-18-2009, 11:50 AM
Before you ditch it, I'd pull it apart. It has to be a SATA drive underneath it. And I'm guessing they just built a chassis and dropped one of their standard drives in that chassis. What I'm getting at is the problem is probably power, unless you can hear and feel it spinning. If you can pull the drive, cable it, and power it on a regular desktop, you can get your data off it.

The drive itself is fine and continues to work. It's the main computer that dropped the software for some reason, has done this to other USB devices I have plugged in. Just a matter of re-uploading the Free Agent software, something i'll do tonight.

wesintl
11-18-2009, 12:07 PM
what about your website bro? We have a dead link on your Ad.

Red_Chili
11-18-2009, 12:16 PM
Doubled http://

Hulk
11-18-2009, 03:22 PM
They ain't nuthin' there: www.lough-graphy.com

bh4rnnr
11-18-2009, 04:45 PM
what about your website bro? We have a dead link on your Ad.

I've been working on a new one, but been having trouble uploading it from Macromedia to Hostway.... Plus i'd still like to find a good photogallery for the images.

wesintl
11-18-2009, 07:07 PM
at least put something up.. blank page is no good.

Convert
11-18-2009, 07:38 PM
Did you try unplugging it and plugging it back it? Did you try pounding on the keyboard with both fists? Swearing loudly while shaking the monitor?

That's what my Project Manger does all day long before he starts throwing things down the hallway. :lmao::lmao:

Groucho
11-18-2009, 07:45 PM
Didja hear? Widows 7 is here....It's not gonna have any of the problems that windows 2 had. Trust me. (http://www.apple.com/getamac/ads/):lmao::lmao::lmao::lmao::lmao::lmao:


(I don't even remember widows 2. Had to wikipedia it to remind myself what the screen shots looked like)

Red_Chili
11-19-2009, 01:13 PM
Actually in testing Windows 7, the techs here have found very few issues. It really is better, and encapsulates legacy programs in a VM-like XP environment. Or so it was told me. We will probably go from XP Pro direct to 7. On what ain't Linux anyway.

Windows Vista... not so much. :lmao: It was responsible, however, for significant sales of XP and XP Pro however. :rolleyes:

I had a friend who had a shrinkwrapped box of Windows 286 (prior to 3.10). Best kept that way. Amusingly unstable according to him. Probably will be worth a mint someday.
http://www.clemson.edu/caah/history/FacultyPages/PamMack/lec122/win286.jpg

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_2.1x

My first PC (former Mac guy) was a 486 with 1M of memory and 3.11 IIRC. Wow was I in heaven. :lmao:

Red_Chili
11-19-2009, 01:27 PM
OBTW, I found the Dell at home would not boot for my wife yesterday. Did a nice job of making the on/off switch blink yellow though, indicating a power issue. Dang. Hadn't even gotten around to putting in the new motherboard.

Called Dell about the power supply issue, to go along with the motherboard issue. The fella wanted me to go ahead and install the replacement motherboard they sent me. Ooooookay... I was kinda thinking I would preserve it from a miscreant power supply, but I took the time to do it.

Pretty cool heatsink for the processor. I think you 40 guys could solve some overheating issues with it.

Now it does nothing at all. No blinking power switch, nuttin'. :lmao:

The Dell tech will come to my home Friday or Monday, power supply and motherboard in hand. Gratis.
:thumb:
I'll let him screw around with it this time.

Hulk
11-19-2009, 01:50 PM
I never used Windows until 3.1, if I recall correctly. That worked pretty well. Windows 95 was such a substantial upgrade -- it was huge!

pmccumber
11-19-2009, 02:42 PM
Windows 3.1 was, IMO, where Microsoft earned its bad reputation. Anyone remember GPFs? One error fits all. 3.1 was extremely unstable.

The problem with 3.1 was it was nearly impossible to write a Windowing application with a 16-bit OS. Just not enough addressable memory space. The gyrations programmers had to go through were incredible. Plus, one stray memory reference (bug) could bring the whole thing down because of an extremely outdated memory model. All this while 32-bit parts with onboard MMUs had been out for a decade.

Macs were just humming along with a 32-bit OS and nice clean API. Virtual process spaces and apps were no longer bringing the whole system down.

Win95 brought a 32-bit OS and emulated in a VM the 16-bit apps. Very important for Microsoft to bridge that chasm. And to earn the Win95 sticker, software had to be written to the new 32-bit API. And so it went, the empire was saved.

The real horror was that progress was severely retarded those 10 years while h/w was not being utilized and robust apps were just a pipe dream.