PDA

View Full Version : Lets talk tools...(long)

74fj40
12-02-2009, 10:31 PM
what do you prefer? and why?

Personally I would say that 85% of my tools are snap on. Partly because of the name, but mostly because of the reliability of our snap on dealer at work. always gets everything I order the next week, sends tools out for service immediately, takes trade ins, warranties non-warrantied stuff etc.

Today I just bought a new air ratchet, and our snapon guy threw in a carhartt style snapon jacket for free. His CSI from me is through the roof.

Our new Matco lady seems to be keeping up well but she isnt good at keeping things like gloves in stock. And the Cornwell guy...well I havent seen him in weeks. Same with the MAC tool guy, I have seen him one time in the two years I've been a mechanic there. Would be nice because MAC makes some quality air tools.

Anyways, for those who don't get to see a Tool franchise once a week...or month in some cases, What do you prefer? Obviously, Craftsman will be a big one, and they make some okay tools when using them for small things or odd jobs, but Craftsman just doesn't cut it for me when working on cars all day.

Obviously price is a huge factor as well, when you buy snapon you pay for the technology and the warranty, and the price shows it too. same goes for matco, MAC etc. :blah: But I don't have a problem paying that price as I always recieve good results from snap on.

anyways, enough talking, what do you preffer and why?

jettaglxdriver
12-02-2009, 10:40 PM
Since I am a hobby wrench and tend to help others a lot I buy Craftsman mostly. I prefer their Pro grade tools though over their cheap stuff. I have filled some holes in my tool collection with stuff from Horor Freight also. I tent to buy tools of quality that match what I will ask of them and how often I will use them. If $10-20 more for a tool will save me hours or from ruining more expensive parts I will buy the higher end tool.

Mendocino
12-02-2009, 10:55 PM