PDA

View Full Version : '88 Runner as Daily Driver

daisydog34
01-12-2010, 01:16 PM
Dunno if this belongs in this section or general chit chat, but it's kinda tech.

I am going to go look at an '88 runner today to possibly become a daily driver. Right now I drive the tow rig (02 Ford power chicken) and its getting kinda expensive (fuel, tires, maint...) and the miles are stacking up on something that was intended for towing to go play :)

So I decided that I should look for a DD. I found an '88 runner SR5 22-RE 5 spd. Going to look at it tonight. Was wondering if there is anything in paticular to look for mechanically as I have very little experience with the 22-RE. Also is there anybody out there that drives one of these daily? How does it hold up? Whats the MPG like? I only drive about 40 miles round trip so its not a whole hell of a lot but it does add up!

Thanks in advance!

subzali
01-12-2010, 01:31 PM
timing chain is about the only thing that you need to be aware of. Somewhere around 160K miles the plastic timing chain guides start to become brittle enough that they break and the chain can eat into the timing chain cover. So all that stuff needs to be replaced sometime around then, typically. The timing chain cover has a face against the head gasket, so the head gasket is supposed to be done at that time as well.

Otherwise, if it shifts well and has been well maintained there's not much that I can think of that is a "gotcha" type item - everything else is what wears out on anything else...clutch would be at your typical interval of 150K or so miles, depending in driver...

I had a '91 2wd truck that got between 24 and 29 mpg regularly...4runner is a little heavier so I'd expect high teens to low 20s, depending on your foot. Not the gutsiest thing out there but it gets you back and forth to work. Good vehicles, you can expect them to go well upwards of 200K if it's been well maintained...

daisydog34
01-12-2010, 01:39 PM