PDA

View Full Version : Space Shuttle

Lars
01-28-2010, 03:10 PM
I guess it was 24 years agot today that the challenger exploded. I remember being in school watching it happen.

Mendocino
01-28-2010, 03:28 PM
I remember this very well. I was in college and saw the news and was stunned. About a year later I went to work at NASA doing human factors reaseach for the (then) future International Space Station. NASA was a pretty gloomy place in the late 80s but I sure learned a lot. Many of those experiences in the 40x80 wind tunnel, space station simulator and the High Bay (where the centrifuge was in the movie All the Right Stuff) have formed my view of technology and its adoption. Wow-thanks for firing thos memories Lars!

FJBRADY
01-28-2010, 03:43 PM
I was a freshman at the University of Florida having lunch at the Rathskeller when the news broke.....never forget the stunned looks on everyone around me.

MDH33
01-28-2010, 04:13 PM
I remember this very well. I was in college and ...

I was a freshman at the University of Florida...

I was in 7th grade. :hill:

nakman
01-28-2010, 04:26 PM
Yup, 8th grade here. But still remember it well! They set up a TV in the library so kids could watch the replay.

rover67
01-28-2010, 04:30 PM
wow, thanks for the reminder. i can't believe it was so long ago already.

corsair23
01-28-2010, 04:42 PM
For some reason I remember being up skiing when the news broke...As old as I am though my memory is probably faulty...

Sad day for sure

farnhamstj
01-28-2010, 04:52 PM
I was in 5th grade. I remember watching it in school on the tv on a cart. I was into model rockets, I made a model space shuttle once. Like this one, only mine didn't look that good. http://www.rocketreviews.com/reviews/all/oop_est_space_shuttle.shtml

PabloCruise
01-28-2010, 04:53 PM
Wow...

Very important moment in history to remember.

I read the book Riding Rockets not too long ago. Great book from an astronaut's perspective. He was very critical of NASA mgmt.