PDA

View Full Version : Slowness of RS forum


Hulk
04-19-2006, 04:52 PM
Anyone else experience extreme slowness of the RS forum from time to time? Sometimes it runs quick, other times it will "time out." I'm on high speed connections, and other sites always load up quick. I checked the connection speed with a tool that Wes provided, and everything seems fine. But I still have the problem, almost every day.

Anyone else?

nuclearlemon
04-19-2006, 08:18 PM
yep...i kept trying to respond to a pm from groucho this morning and every time, it locked up

Kipper
04-20-2006, 09:52 AM
I've never noticed any speed issues, and I've certainly never timed out. Are you only seeing lag in the forums or do the other pages of the site seem slow as well?

Hulk
04-20-2006, 10:22 AM
The site is fine. The forum is slow.

Hulk
04-20-2006, 10:26 AM
Just got this:

Uncle Ben
04-20-2006, 11:03 AM
Hmmmm interesting! Glad you spoke up as I thought it was just my comp. I have had the same issues lately, locking up on PM's slow loading or very delayed posting. Wonder if Wes is using a diesel server now? :confused:

treerootCO
04-20-2006, 11:24 AM
I have that error as well Matt. That doesn't bother me, what gets me is when I click on the first thread the first time I load the forum. That one click locks up everything in the browser for 30 sec or so. Downgraded Java just in case to 1.4 because 1.5 is super crappy. Upgraded Firefox to the new 1.5.0.2...Same problem on both the work PC and home.

Shark Bait
04-20-2006, 11:35 AM
I'm real slow this morning at times. :(

Uncle Ben
04-20-2006, 11:57 AM
I'm real slow this morning at times. :(

.....oh your killing me here.......I'm holding back........ :rant: :hill:

Shark Bait
04-20-2006, 12:44 PM
I'm always slow. :lmao: The forum being slow doesn't help! Too much "think time" can be a bad thing. :smokin:

nakman
04-20-2006, 01:56 PM
Same here at work with IE. Seems to work better at home with Firefox. Just every once in a while I'll click on a thread and it won't open, usually I just do something else for a while then come back later to either see the thread or see that it timed out.

wesintl
04-20-2006, 02:31 PM
If you all see the forum closed don't fret to long I'm going to turn it off here and there and see if I can't run a few DB optimization scripts.

Rzeppa
04-20-2006, 03:27 PM
I haven't had any problems with this forum. I finally got my DNS issue squared away with earthlink, and have never noticed any speed issues with the forum.

Uncle Ben
04-20-2006, 03:38 PM
I haven't had any problems with this forum. I finally got my DNS issue squared away with earthlink, and have never noticed any speed issues with the forum.


It's smokin' right now.....you do somethin' Wes?

Hulk
04-20-2006, 03:41 PM
I haven't had any problems with this forum.

Jeff, are you on dial-up when you access the forum?

Kipper
04-20-2006, 04:43 PM
The site is fine. The forum is slow.
It's gotta be the database then. Maybe Wes running those optimization scripts will help, but it's probably the SQL box or the connection between the websever and the SQL box.

bh4rnnr
04-20-2006, 05:41 PM
Works for me :grinpimp:

Uncle Ben
04-20-2006, 08:44 PM
It's gotta be the database then. Maybe Wes running those optimization scripts will help, but it's probably the SQL box or the connection between the websever and the SQL box.


Huh? >>>>WELCOME TO OUR PLANET.....WE MEAN YOU NO HARM! http://emoticons4u.com/img/transport.gif :cheers:

Hulk
04-20-2006, 10:09 PM
It's gotta be the database then. Maybe Wes running those optimization scripts will help, but it's probably the SQL box or the connection between the websever and the SQL box.

The database is on a different box? Hmmm. Does it matter where? I've got a dedicated server we could put it on.

Rzeppa
04-20-2006, 11:09 PM
The database is on a different box? Hmmm. Does it matter where? I've got a dedicated server we could put it on.With a regular professional web hosting service, there's no telling what box is running what. I think what Wes was referring to is that the MySQL DBs we have are not on our regular "web space" directory. Could be the same box, could be a different one on a server farm. Should make no difference.

Hulk
04-21-2006, 09:39 AM
Wes, whatever you did, the whole thing is running faster. Thanks, dood.

wesintl
04-21-2006, 10:05 AM
Alright, we'll see if it stays this way. I did all the optimization in the admin panel. Anything more than that is real DB geek.

I'm assuming the host is using 2003 virtuals and everything is seperate. I'm sure the DB's are in a seperate cluster of machines.

Kipper
04-24-2006, 11:54 AM
Am I the only one that is getting a blank new pm everday that was sent 12-31-1969? Looks like it may be some sort of artifact from a scheduled script?

Hulk
04-24-2006, 12:17 PM
Not me. What is the ghost asking for? Maybe he's hungry.

wesintl
04-24-2006, 01:36 PM
That'd be me.. don't mind. I was testing a few db things and I needed a subject (either you or hulk and i thought i did both) :eek: I'll see if I can remove the whole pm for you.

wesintl
04-25-2006, 12:00 PM
I'll have to look around on some of the vbulletin forums and see what's out there. I do see major slowness now :( definatly intermitant :rant:

Hulk
04-25-2006, 03:32 PM
Wes, I'm talking to Woody's guy about a dedicated server. I'm wondering if we should move this direction as well. The only thing is, I don't want to screw up Kipper's registration asp forms. The rest of the site really doesn't need ASP.

wesintl
04-26-2006, 12:23 AM
When I get some time I'll ask one of the DBA's we have at work more about some possible issues. Our site is nowhere near the size and db calls that mud or other big forums get. I still wonder about the load on the db server. Easy cgi isn't real forthcoming with info.

woody
04-26-2006, 03:03 PM
I had persistent issues with the db while running the 3.0.x version of vBulletin...upgrading to the 3.5.x version helped somewhat....

switching to a dedicated db server fixed it immediately. I also keep all the other softwares up to date as well (ie: php, mysql, etc) and request reconfiguration adjustments thru vB regularly.

3.0.14 is the current version IIRC, just released this week...that may also be an issue, and I would definitely be concerned about the security of the software/db - I know of one other TLCA forum that was recently hacked, possibly due to their out-of-date IPB forum.

course, you have under 10,000 posts...'MUD regularly generates 2500-3300 per day...however, the db slowness isn't likely the result of size but of tweaks and settings. (unfortunately, things a "normal" webhost won't play with)

wesintl
04-26-2006, 03:49 PM
Thanks for the insight woody. Very much appreciated.

wesintl
05-09-2006, 02:45 PM
All you IE users try our firefox. I've had hardly any isssues. I've got some things to tend to and we'll get an update up.

wesintl
05-09-2006, 02:46 PM
All you IE users try out firefox. I've had hardly any isssues(besides some slowness). I've got some things to tend to and we'll get an update up.

Rzeppa
05-09-2006, 07:08 PM
Firefox rocks. I haven't used MSIE in years except when forced to (McAfee updates for example).

Hulk
05-09-2006, 09:24 PM
Yeah, I use IE for two web sites, one of which is USPS.com -- lazy neo-gov't bastids who can't even put togetha a standards-based web site.

Hulk
07-11-2006, 08:37 PM
Running slo-o-ow again...

Uncle Ben
07-11-2006, 09:17 PM
I have to turn the latest Norton Firewall (upgrade?) off before navigating the RS forum. Mud has no issues nor do I have slow issues surfing anywhere else...for some reason the RS forum just bogs with the firewall on.

Rzeppa
07-11-2006, 10:58 PM
No issues here. Firefox 1.0.7 I think... Mostly lately it's been qwest's DSL that has been an issue, almost like the bad ol' days of ao hell in the 90s...

Hulk
07-12-2006, 11:46 AM
You could always get WildBlue. Terry Holben just got hooked up a couple of weeks ago.
http://wildblue.com/