PDA

View Full Version : Cruise Moab 2010 APRS


wesintl
05-02-2010, 09:13 PM
Check it out!

http://aprs.fi/?call=W0REK&mt=m&z=11&timerange=345600

change the time to show the last 5 days. You can see my Fins and things run, Day in arches and our route out to chicken corners. You can see exactly where BFE is and the drive out and back.. Pretty nifty :yagi:

nakman
05-02-2010, 10:04 PM
That's really sweet- so every time you transmitted you got a little red dot? Like the Fins run best. :)

BryanF
05-03-2010, 08:09 AM
Here is the Wipe Out Hill run from Saturday with Tim. Don't know the route well enough to know if it's complete. You guys that can run an antenna with a little gain do a lot better. My 1/4 wave is only a unity gainer.
http://aprs.fi/?call=N0BJF-9&dt=1272672000&mt=m&z=11&timerange=3600

Can see the other runs by changing the date. Go to Sunday and it will take you almost all the way to the house lost it in Warrenton. Then I show up again at my house on Monday. 1300 miles

MDH33
05-03-2010, 08:14 AM
That's pretty :cool: Does the Ham give you GPS info on the unit itself as well?

BryanF
05-03-2010, 08:23 AM
My kenwood 710 will give your current position as well as direction and distance to other users, no map. It is made to directly interface with a product by AVMAP that is a navi system that can show APRS activity, pretty slick but nearly as much as the radio. Would be a good asset for the trail boss to have back at base. You can send text messages as well.

wesintl
05-03-2010, 08:25 AM
Yes, It will display the coordinates and alt, of course speed etc. the yaesu ftm-350 also has a barometer and displays history, speed, etc. Each red dot is a transmission of the coordinates at the time.

I actually bought the kenwood but took it back to get the new yaesu. I was going to buy the green light labs gps for the kenwood and they ended up being the same $ wise. I couldn't figure out what external like the avmap and whether it would do topo maps etc. so I just bagged it for the simple gps with it.

That's cool bryan. I'm glad you posted your info. :)

The only thing I didn't think was great was the yaesu display only goes up to 9,999 and rolls over to 0 so that 234ft is 10,233 :( Lame. everything else I'm liking. I haven't had a lot of time with the radio and while I can hear the CC I couldn't broadcast. I couldn't drive and play with the radio either.

man vail pass was a mess when we went over it.

wesintl
05-03-2010, 08:45 AM
You can send text messages as well.

would have loved to play with that if I knew you were out there. :D

BryanF
05-03-2010, 09:32 AM
would have loved to play with that if I knew you were out there. :D

359 days +/- and I'll be back:D Already making plans

Hulk
05-04-2010, 01:10 AM
Wes, that is so cool. Now I want to sell my 7800.

DaveInDenver
05-04-2010, 07:11 AM
Wes, that is so cool. Now I want to sell my 7800.
You don't need a FTM-350 to do APRS. Any radio can do it pretty easily.

http://www.byonics.com/tinytrak/

Or add a full on TNC and you can do APRS, packet, etc.

http://www.kantronics.com/products/mt1200.html

http://www.aprs.net/vm/picktnc/picktnc.htm

Now the simultaneous packet/phone thing, yeah with your FT-7800 it's a bit tougher. But with the priority scan you could do an update every 5 seconds but would get annoying if you are holding a QSO when it jumps over. I'm sure there is a way that you can avoid spending $400 unless you really want to (which I understand, I'm constantly tinkering with the radio or antennas or whatever). I've also seen people build an APRS box that use their HT and a Tinytrak. That would all fit in a rear cargo cubby and would be totally set and forget.