PDA

View Full Version : Recover Gear List?

Hudo4
08-09-2010, 04:41 PM
I was wondering if anyone has a list of recover gear I should have? I'm still new to the sport and I'm looking to make sure I have everything I need because heaven knows I'm sure to break something one of these days. :D

Thanks for any and all help.

FJBRADY
08-09-2010, 05:01 PM
Recovery gear or spare parts?

Recovery gear list of random order.
Strap(s)
D rings
gloves
set of metric tools including torque wrench.
vice grips
zip ties
winch
hi lift jack
CB or even better Ham
Cell Phone

Spare parts:

Spare CV (IFS) or short/long side axles
Fluids (90 wt, oil, coolant, brake fluid, ps fluid)
fuel filter
u joint
Most importantly stay on top of preventive maintence and every so often or before a trail run roll under the truck and make sure bolts are tight. Watch for leaks!

Depends also how hard your are going to wheel it as far the spare parts go. Good rule of thumb don't go alone.

That's all I can think of....I am sure I missed something.

rover67
08-09-2010, 05:05 PM
Here's a good start for recovery stuff. He's in Firestone too, so just up the street. It's all rated gear.

http://rockstomper.netfirms.com/shoppingcart/nfoscomm/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=1_16&products_id=70

Tools and spares require a bit more thought.. Steve has a good start. The tool and spare kit will morph as you use it and need stuff.

FJBRADY
08-09-2010, 05:10 PM
Here's a good start. He's in Firestone too, so just up the street. It's all rated gear.

http://rockstomper.netfirms.com/shoppingcart/nfoscomm/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=1_16&products_id=70

Yup good stuff. I you are wondering why a chain? If someone does not have a tow point use a chain in the frame rather than a strap so you don't ruin the strap by getting caught on sharp under body areas.

Caribou Sandstorm
08-09-2010, 05:21 PM
Hi Brent,