PDA

View Full Version : Trouble opening your Scepter Jerry cans ?

Woodsman
01-10-2011, 01:16 PM
A trip down the Kokopelli in 2009 had me cussing up a storm as I was unable to open my cans. I finally found two small allen wrenches and put them in the holes around the cap. I used a breaker bar, fighting with it every step of the way, and finally coerced the cans open. I knew that I could do better so I invented the "Scepter Wrench". As a custom woodworker, I have all the tools to do the job right so I figured I should just solve this problem. My revised unit also includes a cutout to permit tightening and loosening the pour nozzle. Interestingly, I showed this to my brother who has been in the military for 24 years and he said that he can't believe Scepter doesn't mold handles like this from plastic. He said a tool like this would have been very welcome when he was in Iraq. While a strap wrench does the job, he said it's a pain to use over and over on dozens and dozens of cans.

http://i255.photobucket.com/albums/hh156/woodsmanspics/James%20FJ%20pics/Scepter2.jpg
http://i255.photobucket.com/albums/hh156/woodsmanspics/James%20FJ%20pics/Scepter3.jpg
http://i255.photobucket.com/albums/hh156/woodsmanspics/James%20FJ%20pics/Scepter5.jpg

simps80
01-10-2011, 02:14 PM
golly, that is slick!

Nice work!

sno bored
01-10-2011, 02:20 PM
Looks like it's time to put them into production and make some money.

wesintl
01-10-2011, 02:53 PM
just put in a pm to James.. I'm sure he'll hook you up. :thumb:

A few of us got to see one on the maze run. It's a thing of beauty from a professional woodworker :cheers: I know someone in the club with one!

Or just group buy and save on shipping.

Caribou Sandstorm
01-10-2011, 03:02 PM
Yep you can't have the one in the pic cause it is coming to my house!!

Special delivery! "Coming in hot!

Looks great James!

Woodsman
01-10-2011, 03:09 PM
Yep you can't have the one in the pic cause it is coming to my house!!

Special delivery! "Coming in hot!