PDA

View Full Version : DC power supply


CardinalFJ60
01-14-2011, 05:09 PM
So, I want hook up my 2m in the garage on a DC power supply. Anything to look for?? I've been looking at HRO.com but don't really know what I should be looking for. it's just for a Yeasu 2900 - nothing fancy and I don't want to spend a fortune - no, I don't have an extra battery laying around.

I saw the Yaesu 1023(??) not sure of the exact part number...but seems to fit the bill. Could I just get a Radio Shack DC power supply??

DaveInDenver
01-14-2011, 07:03 PM
The Yaesu 1023 would be more than sufficient for a FT-2900.

Look for 13.8V nominal output and match the supply's capacity to what the radio draws maximum.

For example, for the FT-2900.

Supply Voltage: DC 13.8V 10%, Negative Ground
Current Consumption (typical):
RX: Less than 0.7A (max. audio)
Less than 0.3A (Squelched)
TX: 15A (75W) / 9A (30W) / 5A (10W) / 4A (5W)

So you need a maximum of 15A.

"The Yaesu FP-1023 power supply provides 13.8 VDC at 23 amps. Input is 120 VAC 60 Hz."

So PS capacity > radio max, you are good to go. However, while this is a nice supply, it's more than you need (and need to spend, about $175). If you don't see yourself adding a 100W HF and/or VHF rig, then you might consider something like the Astron RS-20. This is about $100 typically and a very solid supply. Does 16A sustained, 20A transient.

BTW, I don't think Radio Shack sells anything useful like this anymore. Also consider eBay or Craigslist. And old Heathkit or really any old linear power supply could be a nice option because they are so very simple that if they don't work we can rebuild or fix it.

CardinalFJ60
01-14-2011, 10:22 PM
Thanks for that great info. I should know better than to look into the "suggested accessories" that pop up on the web searches.

That Yaesu unit is about $140, I would definitely prefer to spend less thanks for the nudge in the right direction. Too bad about Radio Shack I feel like most of them are RC cars cell phones and batteries. As a matter of fact, the CB in the 60 is a RS CB from....wait for it...about 1987. It was never the best stuff but usually worked and this one works just fine. Sounds pretty "Realistic" doesn't it? ;) :lmao:

DaveInDenver
01-15-2011, 06:46 AM
Honestly, $140 is a pretty good price for that, it's a well made supply. It's a lot of money no matter, though.

Here's a $50, 10A supply. This would work for RX and TX at 30W or less.

http://www.amazon.com/DF-1763-UNIVERSAL-HEAVY-CONVERTER-OUTPUT/dp/B0014JC6VM/ref=sr_1_14?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1295098201&sr=1-14

The Astron RS-20 I mentioned.

http://www.hamcity.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=101&idproduct=353

Interesting little Jetstream for $60. It might not be happy if you use 75W all the time, though.

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hamps/3311.html

Thing is that you can never really buy too much power supply, particularly if you go with a switcher. A 20A or 25A or 30A supply won't be a waste of money if down the road you want a different radio or to run a couple of things with it. Like maybe a second radio that is receiving, an amp, maybe power a tuner or who knows.

CardinalFJ60
01-15-2011, 07:42 AM
for $144 shipped to my door I got the Yaesu fp-1023...you only live once, right?

Uncle Ben
01-15-2011, 08:23 AM
for $144 shipped to my door I got the Yaesu fp-1023...you only live once, right?

Oh shawn.....I'm sorry I missed this thread. JB Saunders (http://jbsaundersco.com/) has many choices of rebuilt/refirbished or overstock power supplies on the shelf. If you've never been in there maybe you should avoid it. My bad.....sorry...:o

CardinalFJ60
01-15-2011, 08:41 AM
Thanks for thinkin' of me...Heck! I'll still go there and get in trouble! ;):o:D

Just went to that link...I had no idea they're there. (HAH! gotta love our language).

Hulk
01-15-2011, 12:12 PM
You know, this is a really interesting discussion. I have a FT-2800 in a box that I could easily turn into a base station. I think I may just do that. According to the manual, the DC power supply just needs to be capable of 15 Amps continuously at 13.8 Volts.

xodeuce
01-21-2011, 09:46 AM
You know, this is a really interesting discussion. I have a FT-2800 in a box that I could easily turn into a base station. I think I may just do that. According to the manual, the DC power supply just needs to be capable of 15 Amps continuously at 13.8 Volts.

Check out QRZ.com's for sale forums. There's often at least one power supply on there for sale at a decent discount.

This wouldn't run your 65w rig, but I'd bet it could handle 50w just fine.
Jetstream Power Supply (http://forums.qrz.com/showthread.php?t=281415)

Anyway, check there periodically, and you can probably find something worthwhile. I think I saw an Astron RS20A on there, but the guy was iffy on shipping.

I got my Astron RS35A on there for about half of what a new one goes for.

Hulk
01-21-2011, 05:21 PM
Check out QRZ.com's for sale forums. There's often at least one power supply on there for sale at a decent discount.

This wouldn't run your 65w rig, but I'd bet it could handle 50w just fine.
Jetstream Power Supply (http://forums.qrz.com/showthread.php?t=281415)

Anyway, check there periodically, and you can probably find something worthwhile. I think I saw an Astron RS20A on there, but the guy was iffy on shipping.

I got my Astron RS35A on there for about half of what a new one goes for.

Thanks for the tip! I actually ordered the Yaesu FP-1023 from Ham City yesterday.