PDA

View Full Version : Very cold start and battery question

Eldorado556
02-01-2011, 07:39 AM
Low last night here in the foothills was -6. Took a little bit of time getting started this morning. What methods are recommended for easy cold starts? this is my first non-FI vehicle so I'm new at this.

My old man used to keep our old Suburban warm by putting a clamp on work light underneath at night with a 60 watt bulb in it. For a quick fix this morning I put a 100 watt bulb under the oil pan for a bit. With full choke and a couple pumps of the gas I was able to get her running.

My battery seems good, but it is 6-7 years old. I will be replacing it with an Optima. I was just wondering which battery to go with. Red top, blue or yellow?

I hear the blue top starting is a good bet. Curious what size will fit, group 31/34, etc?

wesintl
02-01-2011, 07:44 AM
block heater and plug it in...

optimas are not high on my list anymore. Check out the diehard, odyssey or deka's

60wag
02-01-2011, 07:44 AM
My method with the FJ60 was to give the acelerator pump a couple of squirts to put gas in the intake manifold, then wait 30 seconds or so for some of it to vaporize. After that it would usually light right up on the first crank.

A block heater doesn't hurt either. :)

Eldorado556
02-01-2011, 07:46 AM

optimas are not high on my list anymore. Check out the diehard, odyssey or deka's

Are these orbital batteries?

RicardoJM
02-01-2011, 08:31 AM
On cold mornings, the starting procedure on the FJ40 is, full choke, a couple of pumps and turn it over. Let it warm up for a few minutes before driving it off. A couple of years ago it would not start at -6 (http://risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/showthread.php?t=8714&highlight=cold+starting+morning), I replaced the battery with a new one and it has always started since. I don't think it will get fired up this morning as HutHut does not have school. I am going to give it a go tomorrow morning as I am curious to see how it does.