PDA

View Full Version : 2f timing

DenCo40
02-13-2011, 08:14 PM
I would like to know what timing degree people use on their 2f for high altitude (above 5280 elev.) I know some people have luck advancing it a little helps...

subzali
02-13-2011, 10:23 PM
I think stock is 7 degrees, some people run up around 11 degrees or so. I've had people tell me to advance it until it pings/knocks at load and then back off a couple degrees. I'm a couple degrees more advanced, not exactly sure how much.

SteveH
02-14-2011, 07:50 AM
One rule of thumb is to have the steel ball just at the edge of the sight window - which is about 4 degrees advanced, as Matt said. If you have pinging or hard starting, you're too far advanced. You won't get a huge performance boost, but every bit counts.

ttubb
02-14-2011, 07:51 AM
I am in Crested Butte (10,000) and I have been running about 13 degrees for the last two years. Works great and this is on a freshly overhauled engine with a shaved head (higher compression).
I just adjusted the distributor to the best/smoothest running point. T

DenCo40
02-14-2011, 03:57 PM
I'll give that a shot. I have been running it stock but heard something a while back about advancing the timing a bit seems to run better at altittude.
Thanks

CBone
02-14-2011, 04:30 PM
I'm running at 11

Hulk
02-14-2011, 04:36 PM
I'm running at 11

"These go to eleven."
UeOXsA8sp_E

Rzeppa
02-15-2011, 02:28 PM