PDA

View Full Version : Can you recommend a good day hike backpack

Rezarf
03-08-2011, 11:01 PM
I would like a new pack for day hikes/14er's and maybe minimalist summer overnights. I currently use a north face top loader that is about 35 liters. It is made for skiing or boarding, but I don't backcountry ski.

I am wanting:

Bladder spot
Panel loading, not top loading
30ish liters
Good suspension for a long torso and big belly ;)

Are those mesh back panels work? I can sweat up a storm in just a few minutes when going up any incline.

I also found a military bag that I really love the features on it, but it is camo and with molle webbing ALL over it, so it looks a little too commando.

I am looking at some of the Dueter, Vaude, and Arcteryx packs (used on the arc bags due to $$$).

rover67
03-09-2011, 12:26 AM
I have an Arc'teryx Khamsin (I think its one of the smaller ones... I have to check..) that I have been using for probably 10 years. I really like it.

But, it has a minimal suspension on it. Typically with the smaller lighter packs the minimal suspension doesn't matter as much since the weight you carry is less. I will say that the hip belt is pretty light.... as in just a thin layer of padding. you gotta sinch it up tight to make the hip belt carry the weight.

you are welcome to take it and use it as much as you want to see if you like it. I am sure the new ones are much nicer in terms of the suspension, but I think the basic design is still the same.
I have used it all over the place for week long hikes and the capacity is juuuust enough. Half of it is food when I start out.

DaveInDenver
03-09-2011, 07:08 AM