PDA

View Full Version : Need to check mh-48 mic cable to FT1802


Inukshuk
07-30-2011, 01:12 PM
Anyone have a spare or momentarily borrowable mh-48 mic or cable so I can check my radio. Just yesterday keying the mic causes my FT1802 to cycle on and off.

I suspect the cable as it is the weakest link.

Cable can be ordered for about $25. Whole new mic is $70!

Inukshuk
07-31-2011, 10:50 AM
Bueller, bueller, bueller...

Anyone have a MIC I can plug in?

DanS
07-31-2011, 01:22 PM
Daniel:

I've got one you can try. I won't be back in town though until Tuesday afternoon at the earliest, but I *should* be at the meeting and will have it with me there. If not, I'll be running around time on and off over the next few weeks, I'll have the radio/mic with me either way.

EDIT--I'd bet that HRO has one that you can test on it.

Dan

wesintl
07-31-2011, 02:00 PM
I've got an 1802 and mic. I can bring it to the meeting or you can come out here if your in a rush

Inukshuk
07-31-2011, 11:11 PM
Thanks! I'll try to swing by the pre-meeting action.

Closer than HRO.

CardinalFJ60
08-01-2011, 04:36 PM
if it's the same mic on the 2900 I can bring mine to work tomorrow. I'll toss it from our window to yours across the alley. :D

the PN is close...lemmeno if it'll do the job and/or if I can bring it in for ya'.

Inukshuk
08-01-2011, 11:06 PM
if it's the same mic on the 2900 I can bring mine to work tomorrow. I'll toss it from our window to yours across the alley. :D

the PN is close...lemmeno if it'll do the job and/or if I can bring it in for ya'.

You the creepy guy across the alley with the telescope....

I should have time around 3 or 4. That would be great.

Inukshuk
08-22-2011, 11:04 AM
I just spoke with Vertex Standard customer service (Yaesu makers) and they said my problem is almost definitely power. The unit is shutting down because it does not have enough power to TX but then comes back on because there is some current. So, I am to check for bad connections.

Inukshuk
08-22-2011, 07:50 PM
All Fuses and Fuseblocks are Not Created Equal

So, for the second time I have had a fuse-related electrical problem. Sure enough, the current drop was at the aux fusebox by the battery. Replaced the fuse, cleaned contacts and HAM is back, just in time for the 7:30 CC net so I was able to verify TX and RX.

I will next look to buy better quality fuses. The last time was in Central Wyoming for the Outlaws Run - not a place to have a fuse let you down.

Does anyone have brands they suggest?

corsair23
08-22-2011, 09:39 PM
No suggestion on fuses but could the location be causing the issues? My aux fuse block is under the passenger seat and I haven't had any issues in 18 months. I'm just wondering if heat might not be the enemy you are fighting here vs. fuses :confused:

Inukshuk
08-23-2011, 07:07 AM
Inside would certainly be better and I should explore that. Right now they are next to the battery on the fender. But the fuse that failed last year - broke, did not burn, was in the stock engine fusebox.