PDA

View Full Version : do I need PL tones with "scanner" freq.?


CardinalFJ60
09-03-2011, 10:49 AM
I'm programming the Yeasu 8900 for the Outlaws trip and wanted to add some emergency freq. to scan around and listen to out on the open road. someone posted this link a while back...

http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?ctid=247

many have a tone listed...is that an RX PLtone? or their TX tone?

do I need to program that in the radio just to listen?

IIRC, with 2m repeaters, I can listen to them just fine without any tone setting - just can't TX.

ttubb
09-04-2011, 07:48 AM
I am certainly not the expert on this subject, but I listen to the Crested Butte Emergency Dispatch freq, which shows a tone freq, without a tone programmed. Terry

See here - http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?ctid=266

1loudLX
09-07-2011, 12:58 AM
you can listen without the tone programmed. The tones are for their radios to only pickup when there's a transmission using the PL tone.