PDA

View Full Version : My Offroad Camper modification


Romer
07-06-2006, 05:58 PM
Knowing that I have a wife and two teenagers the daughters, one of the age old reasons that they can't go camping is dead. No longer can they say they can't plug in their hairdryer or other electronic devices.

I recently bought a 4000W (surge)3500 (Steady) generator. Lots of research on RVnet.com led me to a great deal at checker auto parts for $329, It's RV ready (has socket) and it's quiet for its size. Just a little louder than one of those $1000 2000W Honda Generators. Being here and on mud, I have learned the value of forums when doing research. There is a 230+ page thread on these Chinese cloan generators and the consensus and user tests show this one is the best.

Not only will this generator power my stuff and recharge my batteries on the trail, I can power my frig, furnace, some lights and even a tv when the power goes out at home. That's another reason to get a larger generator. A 2000W would have handled all my camping needs, even if I added AC to my pop up later.

So now the question came, where to put it? One of the reasons I bought the Jayco Baja was the front storage deck, but this generator is too big to fit on the deck. Most folks would have bought a smaller generator, but with what we do, if it doesn't fit, modify it is the mantra!

So, I cut a section of the railing off and bought some Steele pipe at Home depot that would fit within the diameter of the existing railing.

I had to move my tool box over so it could fit as well.

I bent the new pip so there would be at least 6 inches within the existing pipe. I then used JB Weld and a pipe clamp (not shown in photos).

I also drilled holes in the deck and bolted the generator down with 4 bolts. The bolts will hold the generator.

So, on the Ghost Town run, feel free to bring your coffee maker, projector and whatever and you can run it off my generator. You could bring the rising sun laptop and projector and run a movie for the kids.

Vic stuff
07-06-2006, 06:21 PM
FYI a 2000 watt generator will NOT power a AC unit. it requires a 3000 watt for the 2800 watt kickdown of the ac compressor at startup of the cycle. if youve heard diffrent they are lying to ya. Trust me on that one, weve tryed it in the shop.

nakman
07-06-2006, 06:23 PM
Awesome Ken, well done! :cheers: :camping:

Romer
07-06-2006, 06:24 PM
FYI a 2000 watt generator will NOT power a AC unit. it requires a 3000 watt for the 2800 watt kickdown of the ac compressor at startup of the cycle. if youve heard diffrent they are lying to ya. Trust me on that one, weve tryed it in the shop.

are you talking about the small units that mount to the roof of a pop up? I don't plan on getting AC ever anywise even though it's pre-wired.:blah:

Vic stuff
07-06-2006, 06:44 PM
are you talking about the small units that mount to the roof of a pop up? I don't plan on getting AC ever anywise even though it's pre-wired.:blah:

yes, ie a coleman mach or a duotherm they both draw 2800 watts at compressor kickdown

bh4rnnr
07-06-2006, 07:08 PM
Knowing that I have a wife and two teenagers the agers, one of the age old reasons that they can't go camping is dead. No longer can they say they can't plug in their hairdryer or other electronic devices.

I recently bought a 4000W (surge)3500 (Steady) generator. Lots of research on RVnet.com led me to a great deal at checker auto parts for $329, It's RV ready (has socket) and it's quiet for its size. Just a little louder than one of those $1000 2000W Honda Generators. Being here and on mud, I have learned the value of forums when doing research. There is a 230+ page thread on these Chinese cloan generators and the consensus and user tests show this one is the best.

Not only will this generator power my stuff and recharge my batteries on the trail, I can power my frig, furnace, some lights and even a tv when the power goes out at home. That's another reason to get a larger generator. A 2000W would have handled all my camping needs, even if I added AC to my pop up later.

So now the question came, where to put it? One of the reasons I bought the Jayco Baja was the front storage deck, but this generator is too big to fit on the deck. Most folks would have bought a smaller generator, but with what we do, if it doesn't fit, modify it is the mantra!

So, I cut a section of the railing off and bought some Steele pipe at Home depot that would fit within the diameter of the existing railing.

I had to move my tool box over so it could fit as well.

I bent the new pip so there would be at least 6 inches within the existing pipe. I then used JB Weld and a pipe clamp (not shown in photos).

I also drilled holes in the deck and bolted the generator down with 4 bolts. The bolts will hold the generator.

So, on the Ghost Town run, feel free to bring your coffee maker, projector and whatever and you can run it off my generator. You could bring the rising sun laptop and projector and run a movie for the kids.

Man, could have used that yesterday, as a goose flew into the power line behind the building. We were without power for a couple hours. Turning work away:eek:

Romer
07-06-2006, 07:10 PM
yes, ie a coleman mach or a duotherm they both draw 2800 watts at compressor kickdown

Well, now I know I have a big enough generator in case I change my mind and get AC. 4000 surge and 3500 steady should handle that.

Thanks Vic - Get your truck back from the police?

Rezarf
07-06-2006, 07:13 PM
Ken-

Is your generator bolted down onto the deck? I am only asking because I feel a little sketchy about JB welding the rack pipes into place.

Just wondering, looks like a nice way to camp. See you on the Ghost town run.

Drew

Romer
07-06-2006, 07:15 PM
with 4 sturdy bolts as it says in the post.

Vic stuff
07-06-2006, 09:09 PM
Well, now I know I have a big enough generator in case I change my mind and get AC. 4000 surge and 3500 steady should handle that.

Thanks Vic - Get your truck back from the police?

Goin to pick it up in the morning tomorrow!!!!

IanB
07-07-2006, 09:09 AM
Ken-

Is your generator bolted down onto the deck? I am only asking because I feel a little sketchy about JB welding the rack pipes into place.

Just wondering, looks like a nice way to camp. See you on the Ghost town run.

Drew

You could easily get that welded up, that way swinging branches can't take it out on the trail. Looks good.

Romer
07-07-2006, 09:46 AM
The pipes are aluminum and what I added is steele, can you weld al to steele?

IanB
07-07-2006, 11:07 AM
No but you can weld in aluminum pipes instead or weld mounting tabs to the steel pipes and bolt them on (or vice versa). I think the JB Weld might be a dissapointment in the long run, but its not important its just a suggestion.

Beater
07-07-2006, 12:13 PM
you can braze it :)

Red_Chili
07-07-2006, 01:07 PM
Alum to steel? Well, if GM says it, it can be done. I think he is volunteering... I'd bet the alum would fracture at the braze though.

Beater
07-07-2006, 01:54 PM
Alum to steel? Well, if GM says it, it can be done. I think he is volunteering... I'd bet the alum would fracture at the braze though.

it won't be that strong, and won't really stand up to hf vibrations. almost like soldering, as you would have to use a low tensile rod.

Better would be to tig on some feet to bolt the railings down with.

j

Romer
07-07-2006, 05:37 PM
it won't be that strong, and won't really stand up to hf vibrations. almost like soldering, as you would have to use a low tensile rod.

Better would be to tig on some feet to bolt the railings down with.

j

Is this something I can do with solder and a blow torch? Not sure how I would do the feet since the railing now sticks out past the deck. I have the foot that I removed (See orginal pic).

I don't see the railing right there as anything but cosmetic. It won't be used to hold the generator.

Thanks

Romer
07-07-2006, 10:49 PM
Better yet, I'll just drill a hole all the way through and run a bolt through it.