PDA

View Full Version : What GPS Units Do Members Have?


gcmandrake
09-14-2005, 10:55 PM
In the spirit of Ken's question, I was wondering what GPS units people have. Hopefully, I can get some of the manuals on-line for the class next month.

Matt

nuclearlemon
09-14-2005, 11:45 PM
i have an etrex. do you need to borrow my manual?

Seldom Seen
09-15-2005, 12:17 AM
Garmin V+ and 301.

leiniesred
09-15-2005, 10:19 AM
Yep, it is an oldie. but, it works well and I'm familiar with it.

Lindsay and I take it GEOCACHING and we took it on the last road rally we ran.

I use it snowshoeing as I have "misplaced" my truck a time or two.

It hooks into my laptop with MS streets and trips on it and works great. It also has seen use while WARDRIVING (locating wi-fi hot spots) using NetStumbler and other linux based tools.

It has favorite camping spots marked around the country from years of service. It has never let me down. It lacks fancy stuff like a color display and it only has what? a meg of writeable memory so you can't get the detail you can with today's units.

-LeiniesRed

Bobzooki
09-15-2005, 03:41 PM
I have an old Magellan - it works GREAT!

CardinalFJ60
09-15-2005, 04:38 PM
I've got the eTrex Venture - no topos or maps, and not much memory. but would be great to get back to your 'starting point'.

farnhamstj
09-16-2005, 12:16 AM
E-trex and topo software for laptop. Works great if I remember to upload the maps and carry a Gazateer. Always carry a gaz.... Cause rearly do I have the planning skills to upload and the screen is so freaking tiny anyway.

Hulk
09-16-2005, 12:21 AM
I have a Garmin GPS V (five). I don't know much about it. I've never hooked it up to my laptop, but I will make the attempt before our next meeting.

Matt

nakman
09-16-2005, 08:50 AM
Running the Delorme GPS & topo software, hooked into the laptop. It's cool because it's big, easy to see, etc.. but also pretty cumbersome. And I've been fairly disappointed with the accuracy of the topos.. like it doesn't see any road at Jenny Creek, just Rollins pass. Also my laptop battery only lasts about 5 minutes, so I've got to have my inverter on the whole time which makes my CB staticky. But that's a separate issue, obviously, though still why I don't use the laptop much any more.

Definitely interested in the October deal, hope to learn something!

powderpig
09-16-2005, 09:24 AM
What version of the Delorme software are you using tim? I also am considering this route, but with a small lap top (12 inch), just thought the bigger ones were too big for the cabin in front. later robbie

Convert
09-17-2005, 04:56 PM
I have a Garmin GPS V It came with a car kit. Which included a 12 volt adapter
and car mounting bracket works well !!!!!

nakman
09-17-2005, 05:39 PM
Robbie, it's version 5.0, 2004. And you can check it out any time sir.

Rzeppa
09-17-2005, 06:03 PM
I have my boy scout compass and USGS maps. No GPS :-(

Seldom Seen
09-17-2005, 10:13 PM
I have my boy scout compass and USGS maps. No GPS :-(


And if Land Cruisers still had a provision for hand crank starting you'd still be using that :rolleyes: :D









Naw, just joking. I think a GPSR is useless with out the skill to read a map

Rzeppa
09-18-2005, 09:23 AM
And if Land Cruisers still had a provision for hand crank starting you'd still be using thatActually, all three of my 40 series are hand-crankable. They come that way from the factory. The crank-handle for the factory jack can reach through a port on the lower part of the bib to engage the crankshaft pully nut, which has special slots just for this purpose. Even newer rigs like 60s still have the slots in the crankshaft pully nut.

Uncle Ben
09-18-2005, 10:10 AM
Actually, all three of my 40 series are hand-crankable. They come that way from the factory. The crank-handle for the factory jack can reach through a port on the lower part of the bib to engage the crankshaft pully nut, which has special slots just for this purpose. Even newer rigs like 60s still have the slots in the crankshaft pully nut.


Have you ever started one with the crank? Try it sometime!

Romer
09-18-2005, 10:31 AM
We probably should post something and make it a stickey until the meeting about the class and what its going to be.

Romer
09-18-2005, 08:17 PM
I just ordered a Garmin ique M3 today. The right up on my evaluations and why I chose this one is in the outfitting section on Mud.

Karst8835
09-27-2005, 08:43 PM
I have a Garmin GPSmap 60CS.

Jack

Mendocino
09-28-2005, 09:22 AM
What is the class and when is it? I am basically a GPS super freak and would be happy to help out. I know the GPS backwards and forwards and also have a very good understanding of geodesy (coordinate systems and datums).

treerootCO
09-28-2005, 01:20 PM
I have the original Garmin etrex. It had some issues losing the signal in the trees and the batteries would only last a few hours. I updated the firmware and both problems were fixed. Turns out the unit tried to poll too often. You may want to cover datum sets because I ran into that last month. Using the coodinates I had, my friend ended up 22 miles off. We figured out he was using a different format and even though my coordinates were correct, he was reading them differently.

gcmandrake
09-29-2005, 11:46 AM
What is the class and when is it? I am basically a GPS super freak and would be happy to help out. I know the GPS backwards and forwards and also have a very good understanding of geodesy (coordinate systems and datums).

Cool, any and every help will be gratefully accepted. The "class" is during our next meeting.

Matt

Mendocino
10-03-2005, 03:59 PM
I was afraid it was at the meeting. I am in Germany and won't be back till Thursday night. I'll make it to a meeting eventually...