PDA

View Full Version : Hub caps over Warn hubs


Telly
11-05-2012, 07:26 PM
I installed new Warn hubs on my 78. It appears my stock hub caps do not clear the Warn hub body. :mad: Anyone else have this issue? Doug

Telly
11-06-2012, 09:35 AM
I talked to Rocky Mountain Cruiser this morning and 1978 and earlier factory hub cabs do not clear the new warn hubs but 1979 and earlier do. Looks like I buying new front hub caps. Cool Cruisers have decent pricing. Any other suggestions? Thanks. Doug

SteveH
11-06-2012, 09:39 AM
Does a 'new' Warn hub have a significantly different profile than a 1970s hub? Can you post a picture? I believe OEM front hubcaps are still a dealer item.

wesintl
11-06-2012, 09:41 AM
I thought all the late model hub caps were the same? Pics

subzali
11-06-2012, 09:44 AM
EDIT - scratch that. I put OEM wheels and hubcaps on my '77 with Warn hubs with no problems. Wonder what's going on?

Telly
11-06-2012, 10:47 AM
I'm starting to wonder if the PO cut a set of rear hub caps for the front. My front hubs fit perfectly around my old AVM Hubs, which did not taper back to the main hub. Bet you a dollar to a donut that's it. I must say, whoever cut the hub caps did an excellent job...they look factory. Anyone have a couple front hub caps they want to sell me? I'll post in the for sale section.

subzali
11-06-2012, 10:51 AM
As an alternative, maybe someone has older Warn hubs that would work with your current caps. I bet the holes are factory, I don't really see anybody going to the effort of cutting holes in OE caps.

Telly
11-06-2012, 10:59 AM
I'll snap some pictures tonight and a hole diameter measurement. Worse thing about it is I scratched the paint on my new hubs dicking around with the hub caps...:bawl:...:D

Rzeppa
11-06-2012, 06:13 PM
I have hub caps off my FJ60 that cleared the newer Warn hubs. You are welcome to them. I have no use for hub caps.

Crash
11-06-2012, 07:06 PM
As an alternative, maybe someone has older Warn hubs that would work with your current caps. I bet the holes are factory, I don't really see anybody going to the effort of cutting holes in OE caps.

That's funny, Deano just hooked me up with a set of OEM hub caps and one of the front, with hole, ones was a cut rear cap. Old time Cruiserheads must have been very frugal!

Telly
11-07-2012, 08:18 AM
My hub caps were definetly cut. I've got a call into my contact at Liberty Toyota for some replacements.

SteveH
11-07-2012, 09:23 AM
My '78 had home-cut hubcaps and Warn hubs, but the hole was cut much larger - back at the first 'rib' (and not terribly well). I have never seen a FJ40 hubcap cut that far out from the mounting flange.

Nice looking hubs!

wesintl
11-07-2012, 12:41 PM
it was really quite common for them to be cut. 40's cam from the factory with drive plates and either the dealer added hubs and cut the caps or the owner did shortly after. Why go buy hub caps with holes when you can just cut the center out of perfectly good ones that you can't use.

black95
11-11-2012, 02:21 PM
Lol, I cut the hub caps and put door edging trim on them to make it look nice ;) I looked into factory hub caps, and the hole in them was huge, I didn't want all the snow and mud getting in there, so the decision was made to cut my own, and cut them very tight. Did a good job didn't I?