PDA

View Full Version : 1st Annual "Run the Gulches" Saturday 12/8

Fishy
11-23-2012, 04:14 PM
How about a Gulches Run (Metberry, Hackett, Longwater) or any combination of the 3? Doing all 3 is possible but would make for a long day. Doing 2 is probably better.

New date is now Saturday 12/8. This gives everyone time to plan on being there and it's on a weekend!

For those not familiar this is in the area that was burned by the Hayman fire in 2002. New growth has been slow to return so the area has a very distinct look to it. I've always seen deer on the trail and I know there are Bighorn sheep and mountain lion in the area.

I've never done Hackett Gulch before and I believe it's slightly more difficult than Metberry. However, I've ran Metberry in my 100 when it was completley stock with no issues. Metberry is mostly packed dirt/sand with the only rock being the big slab near the end. There is a wide area right along the South Platte River for lunch.

I like this area this time of year as it's usually free of snow but may have some mud from snow melting quickly. There are only a few trees to shade the the ground, so the sun melts the snow really fast. I'd love to make this an annual trip between the Holidays. Call this the 1st Annual Run the Gulches Run!

Here is the updated meeting place. Deckers Store right in the tiny town of Deckers at the "T" where CO67 and Deckers Rd meet. There is the Flies and Lies fly shop in the same little building. No gas, but if the store is open it will have basic provisions. Any of you coming from Evergreen/Conifer/Foothills would take 285 to Pine Valley Rd/CO126 and come in that way. Us southsiders would take 25 South to Happy Canyon Rd, 85 to 67. Hopefully we'll have a few of us coming from either direction and we can meet as 2 mini groups and all meet at Deckers. No reason for you northsiders/foothills guys to have to go all the way to Happy Canyon. Deckers store is almost exactly 40 miles from Evergreen or Centennial.