PDA

View Full Version : Reprogram door lock?


Phrog
01-12-2014, 07:20 AM
I have a condo that has an electronic push button door lock. I'd like to reprogram the lock, as it seems everyone in town knows the current code. I can't find a make/brand anywhere on it. Any ideas on how to reprogram? Thanks.

-Phrog

kurtnkegger
01-12-2014, 08:09 AM
have you taken the lock off the door? I would suspect there is a reprogram code number on the inside of the housing or a set of switches to change the code inside.

Phrog
01-12-2014, 08:30 AM
Great idea, I'll try that. I have taken off the battery access panel and didn't find anything. I'll try disassembling the rest and see what I can find.

-Phrog

Phrog
01-12-2014, 09:00 AM
Okay, took the whole assembly off the door. No reprogramming instructions but did find the manufacturer (Alarm Lock, Amityville NY). Checked their web site, what I have looks nothing like what they sell now. (My lock unit is at least 10 years old, probably more). I'll try calling them tomorrow and see if I can get anywhere. They do have lots of downloadable tech. info on their website, but it all seems to apply to their current products.

-Phrog

DaveInDenver
01-12-2014, 09:03 AM
It wouldn't surprise me if the procedure to change the combo is the same as something they sell currently, though.

Phrog
01-12-2014, 09:14 AM
Problem solved! Poked around on their web site and found reprogramming instructions. Thanks to Kurt and Dave for the hints.

Nothing like fixing something to give you that warm smug buzz. Now on to the intermittent rough idle in my 1976 FJ40...

-Phrog