PDA

View Full Version : Advice on LED light bars

Get Outside
01-19-2014, 09:18 AM
Kind of a repeat question but had to ask it here in the open forum as well!

I've been wanting to add some lights to my 06 100 but not sure on what direction to turn for this project! I'm new to the light systems!

I'm interested to hear what you guys think would work better up on the front roof (spot, flood, flood-spot combo) as well as some work lights on the back and maybe sides!
Single row, double row?

There is a huge range of sizes out there and I don't know what's way overkill and what's too small to even bother!

I appreciate your input.
Thanks

Shotshell
01-19-2014, 09:36 AM
In my experience, there is no such thing as overkill with lights. The brighter the better. This summer I'm going to be getting some LED lighting. I'm not sure exactly the ones I'm going to get yet. But probably double row LED light bars. A shorter one on the front bumper and a long one across the front of my roof rack. I'm under the impression that a flood/spot combo would be a good choice for a roof rack light bar. They have flood all the way across until the ends where there are like 4 LEDs that are set up as spot lights on either end. Seems like a logical set up to me. Hopefully TreeRoot will chime in on this. I know he's got quite a few rigged up on his 100.

Inukshuk
01-19-2014, 12:54 PM
I thought the "combo" roof bars were spot center, flood ends. I can see a certain logic in outboard spots giving a wider distance spot.

Lights can be too bright. Forward facing I have classic CIBIE Super Oscars. Running them "Aussie Style" with one flood and once pencil beam. Sylvania Superstar H1 55W bulbs. The pencil is supposed to have an effective throw of 750M. They only can come on with my high beams (thanks to the Slee harness), or I can leave them off. The reflection from road signs is occasionally uncomfortably bright. On slow trails, they can be too bright up close.