PDA

View Full Version : becoming a landlord?

smslavin
01-27-2014, 02:13 PM
Anyone ever rent their own properties? We're kicking around the idea of renting our place in Broomfield when we move downtown. We may already have a family interested but I wanted to get some input from the collective. What's the good, bad and ugly on handling this yourself versus hiring a property manager?

Ray 2014
01-27-2014, 02:53 PM
You can do this your self.
1. Do a back ground check
2. Take pictures of the house inside and out
3. Return two weeks later to do pictures again, with there " stuff ' in the house.
4. Have a rock solid contract, if you do not have one, you will need to get one, I do not recommended writing your own
5. Know all the in and outs of how to evict your tenant if needed

I personally believe hiring a property management firm is well worth it, let them handle all the headaches.

I DO NOT have rentals, I've been a professional handyman for 15 years, I see and heard it all...

CardinalFJ60
01-27-2014, 03:09 PM
We're doing that. I completely agree with everything stated. Especially the fact that it's worth the cost for a PM company at least at first. Being new to the "landlord" thing and having small kids, the last thing we wanted was to be a victim of our own naivety or to get the 2am calls about a furnace issue. we're happy with our PM company - pretty transparent. we just get a check in the mail every month. :thumb:

and...absolutely learn all the ins and outs of evictions. If it does come to that, some advice I was given was to make the move out as easy as possible for them. like...pay for the packing of the house or 50% or moving costs or something like that. if written properly into the contract and delivered the right way, you may avoid the risk of a pissed off tenant wrecking your place. the cost of the move is waaay less than repairing your house.

smslavin
01-27-2014, 03:11 PM
thanks for the feedback.