PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of giving this a go

Racerchef
03-15-2014, 10:15 PM
This would be 1st trip like this. Do I get to pick trails I want to go on?
I'm a novice at 4 wheeling any recommendations for trails? Not looking for crazy stuff maybe some scenic ones and one to see a bit what vehicle can do.

Fishy
03-15-2014, 11:27 PM
Absolutely you should. What would you be driving?

Here is the best place to start:
http://www.cruisemoab.com

Trail descriptions and a link to register are available from there.

Racerchef
03-16-2014, 07:54 AM
I have a 2013 fj cruiser with OME lift well I will have lift tomorrow :) and nitto terra grapplers

MicahMan
03-16-2014, 10:28 AM
You'd be good for a number of trails. The best part is there are a ton of people with skill and knowledge to help you through.

Inukshuk
03-16-2014, 11:15 AM
I have a 2013 fj cruiser with OME lift well I will have lift tomorrow :) and nitto terra grapplers

Welcome. I ran the TG's for a while and they'll do everything you want them to do at Moab. Proper airing down is the key. Don't be afraid to do it. You can always add air (even if you don't have on-board air, others will in the group) and I have only ever seen two beads break in 15 years of wheeling. On my heavier 80 Series I'd take the TGs down to 15-18 psi. The FJ is a lot lighter so those numbers are safe. You will quickly see that small differences between 15 -25 PSI make a big difference.

If you find tires spinning on a hill climb that others are making, consider going down on air.

Also, driving around town after runs, no need to re-inflate. On highway, also safe if you keep it under 50 MPH.

See you in Moab:thumb:

Racerchef
03-16-2014, 12:33 PM
Damn you guys aren't making it easy for me not to go. Gonna be expensive with registration, to a dues, hotel and all. But looks like a hoot. I was going to go to moab at a different time alone but that really limits where I can go and what I can learn.

LARGEONE
03-16-2014, 12:44 PM