PDA

View Full Version : Need new Antenna ASAP


Corbet
03-25-2014, 07:47 PM
So today some how I severed my rear hatch mount antenna coax. Or the dog chewed it? Not sure. Anyway I've been planning to replace my antenna for some time. With the pre-run only a week away I need to order something ASAP. I have Nakman's hood mount already installed. http://www.gamiviti.com/html/products_antennamounts.html

Recommendations for a 2m/70cm antenna to mount there. Links are appreciated. Its been a long time since I took my test and I forget most of the tech stuff at this point regarding mounts and the such.:o

We only have one possible local source down here and he of course closed early today. His hours are something like we open in the morning and close in the afternoon.:mad: I'll try in the am but if no luck there I'll need to order something around lunch time if possible.

Inukshuk
03-25-2014, 07:50 PM
No problem to bring you something from Denver if needed. I also have a mag mount HAM you can borrow.

Corbet
03-25-2014, 08:09 PM
Throw the Mag mount in your Pre-Run gear pile just in case. That could prevent another temporary Land Cruiser install done in hast that becomes permanent due to my lack of time. I really need to stop that habit.

Fishy
03-25-2014, 08:36 PM
If you can't get one local.....HRO is less than 10 minutes from me. I'm trying to make the pre-run, but worst case I can grab an antenna at HRO and pass it on to anyone at the meeting to pass on to you.

I use this one on a Timiviti Parmesan Cheese mount :hill:

http://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-000059

gahi
03-25-2014, 09:51 PM
I have a mag mount you could borrow too if needed.

Corbet
03-25-2014, 10:05 PM
Looking at what I have now… A Comet SBB5. Looks like all I really need is a new mount to work with the Gamiviti bracket. Something like this? http://www.hamcity.com/store/pc/C213SNMO-p1962.htm

Am I wrong? I'm just not really sure which one.

DaveInDenver
03-26-2014, 07:01 AM
Do you need the super thin coax? The RG-316 type is 2.6mm/0.098" diameter, the stuff that is about the same size as like 18 AWG hook up wire.

I ask because $40 is an awful lot of money for an NMO. The Larsen NMO-K costs about $20 with a connector and about $13 without (it's cheaper & better to buy without and get good Amphenol PL-259 connectors IMHO), but it uses regular 5mm/0.195" diameter RG-58. I use the Larsen with my Gramiviti brackets, in fact I use the Larsen for everything.

Corbet
03-26-2014, 07:39 AM
No, Dave I don't need the super thin coax. It just makes it easier to run under interior trim panels.

Help me out and link up what would make for a good set up given my Gamiviti bracket and current Comet SBB5 antenna. Hopefully that is enough into?

I'm slammed with work this week and looking for the easy button.

DaveInDenver
03-26-2014, 11:14 AM
If you already have the antenna, then you just need an NMO mount (make sure it's NMO, the SBB5 is also available in SO239). You can call HRO in Denver, they'll take your credit card if you want to have someone pick it up and bring it to the run.

NMO-K with a PL-259 connector you'd have to solder on.
http://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-000594

NMO-K with no connector (you'd have to get one separately and solder it on).
http://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-013058

Diamond C213 like you show. This one has the super thin coax with an SMA connector already on it and I think it has a PL259 adapter. This would be a no-solder option.
http://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-009384

DaveInDenver
03-26-2014, 11:19 AM
At Hamcity some of the same and other options:

Comet C101. AFAIK this is the same as the Diamond C213 but just cheaper.
http://www.hamcity.com/store/pc/C101NMO-p700.htm

The Larsen NMO-K.
http://www.hamcity.com/store/pc/NMO-K-p770.htm

Corbet
03-26-2014, 01:53 PM
Thank you Dave. I was able to source a solution at the local commercial radio retailer in Durango. It's a "Laird" brand standard sized coax cord. Should work for the pre-run. If not I will look closer at those options again upon return.

But my next step is running it through the firewall. The standard drivers side hole is pretty full already. (80 series) Plus that is where I've run my big power cable to my accessory fuse block. So in the interest if removing any potential interference what have others done? I'm completely fine with drilling a new hole if someone has found a good spot.

Now to the hardware store to find a healthy sized grommet. This cable is cut to length with a coax fitting to be installed. But I think I want a hole large enough for the connector to pass through in case of future whatever.

Corbet
03-26-2014, 05:05 PM
Dave, you mention soldering on the connector. The one I bought the guy just said to crimp. Does that sound accurate?

DaveInDenver
03-26-2014, 07:30 PM
Sure, it's possible, there are crimp style PL259 connectors. I've used some that are easy to assembly and some that are more difficult than soldering. Some are pure junk while others are every bit as good as soldered on ones. Most of the time good quality ones assembled using the right tools are actually better than soldering IMHO, there is no degradation of the dielectric and insulation and mechanically they are good. BNC and SMA connectors are always crimped on, for example.

Corbet
03-27-2014, 07:49 PM
Any thoughts on using a bulk head type connector for the firewall pass through? I like the idea of two separate coax cables. An interior one from the radio to connector and an exterior to the antenna. Saves me the hassle of finding a grommet solution.

Something like this: https://www.hamcity.com/store/pc/N-23-p2552.htm

gahi
03-27-2014, 08:23 PM
I run mine thru the plug on the firewall where the clutch would go.

Corbet
03-27-2014, 08:48 PM
I run mine thru the plug on the firewall where the clutch would go.

That hole is pretty well maxed out on my truck already