PDA

View Full Version : Help Needed Tonight...

timmbuck2
07-17-2007, 02:46 PM
OK, my "new to me" 2F from Treeroot is sitting on a trailer (thanks Nakman!) in front of my house. Subzali is coming over tonight as are a couple of friends to help get it off the trailer. Is it worth trying to go ahead and drop it in the 40 as is while I have the bodies to help, or should I just put it next to the garage and wait until I can do the whole install at once? Whaddyathink? Remember...I am a 40 newbie...

:)

Timm

nakman
07-17-2007, 02:56 PM
I can't come down tonight to help, sorry..

But are you doing anything to the motor before you drop it? Seems like there's a list of things that everyone wishes they could do while the thing's out, would almost be a shame to just drop it in right away. But I don't know what it needs... new pan gasket? starter contacts? a good scrubbin? heck even a rear main is pretty painless at this point, right?

IMO it would be a mistake to drop it in your 40 right away, then endure a more expensive or more labor-intensive repair in the near future.

timmbuck2
07-17-2007, 03:01 PM
Cool...thanks for the info. I did wash it pretty good at the car wash. Your trailer is sqeaky clean now. :)

No idea what it needs...it came out of a 60 and was running...but no idea about anything else...

Hulk
07-17-2007, 03:38 PM
Rear main would be preventative maintenance at this point. They all leak eventually. :(

nakman
07-17-2007, 03:42 PM
Wait I thought it was a 2F... 62=3FE. If 3FE then do that oil plug thing we're all paranoid about.. per the hypochondriasis in the "2f rerresh" thread.

timmbuck2
07-17-2007, 03:46 PM
Oops,my bad. It was a 60...so a 2f.

OK...change this thread to "What should I do to my 2F before I drop it in my 40?"

:)

Rezarf
07-17-2007, 03:50 PM
Tim-