PDA

View Full Version : trouble shooting my new welder...


Rezarf
07-28-2007, 09:15 PM
Howdy everyone-

Well, after the fiasco of getting 220 into my garage... my breaker box is wildly out of date and the breakers haven't been in production in a few decades. I managed to track one down on Ebay and installed it today.

Here is what I have done so far:

Installed a new 50 amp breaker
Used 6/3 wire
Wired the 6-50 socket
Both hot leads go to the breaker
White (common) to the common strip
Bare copper to the copper strip
Checked the voltage at the socket
I have 119v at each of the hot slots.
I pulled my range and got the same readings at the 220 socket there as well.
(is that how to check what I have at the socket?)

I get all excited and plug the new welder in:
Nothing.
Recheck all the wires, leads, gun, and contacts (to activate the drive roller)
Nothing.
Hit the breaker on the machine (was not engaged or tripped)
Nothing!

AHHHHHHH:rant: :rant: :rant:

Now before we start talking about how I should have bought a blue machine, does anyone have any wisdom of something to check next?

FWIW, it is a 220v Lincoln SP 175-T, new just out of the box, never installed before.

I am taking time off this week to work on my trailer build and any help before Lincolns tech support would be appreciated.

Thanks! :thumb:

Drew

treerootCO
07-28-2007, 09:31 PM
try the welder on a known good outlet...return welder for a new one

Rezarf
07-28-2007, 09:33 PM
Makes sense.

Anyone in Louisville running a 220v with the 6-50 outlet?

Uncle Ben
07-28-2007, 11:13 PM
Silly question but have you checked the polarity leads near the drive gear?

corsair23
07-29-2007, 03:22 AM
Sorry I'm of no help...The fact that you got as far as you did without zapping yourself across the room far exceeds what I could do :)

Good luck with getting it to work!!

Rezarf
07-29-2007, 10:45 AM
Silly question but have you checked the polarity leads near the drive gear?

UB-

I did recheck the polarity poles, even if I reverse them, one setup is for flux core, and if I reverse it, it is for MIG. I have it set for MIG. UB, do you have the 6-50 plug with parallel prongs?

I will recheck it again. I even pulled off the buisness side just to give a peak and make sure all the connections were on tight.

Anyone on testing the socket, in my first post?

Thanks guys

Drew

Red_Chili
07-29-2007, 04:18 PM
Use a meter to make sure each side is 120V to ground, and 220V to each other. You did split the breaker across hot sides, didn't ya? If not, what you have is (2) 120VAC hots with 0V potential to each other, 120VAC potential to ground. Be interesting if you move the breaker one slot if suddenly everything starts working :D.

Rezarf
07-29-2007, 05:25 PM
Use a meter to make sure each side is 120V to ground, and 220V to each other. You did split the breaker across hot sides, didn't ya? If not, what you have is (2) 120VAC hots with 0V potential to each other, 120VAC potential to ground. Be interesting if you move the breaker one slot if suddenly everything starts working :D.

Ding, Ding, Ding!

I think this is it, I didn't split the "hots" I had nil between each of the hot sides and 110v each ground to hot (at the socket). My range has 220 across the two, and my "new" socket had nada...

Changing it now!... we'll see. :eek: :D

Rezarf
07-29-2007, 05:48 PM
SUCCESS! :D

Thanks everyone, I had it on only one "hot slot" instead of bridging the two across two hot slots.

Thanks again, big props to Kevin, Bill, and Mike!:beer: :beer: :beer: :thumb:

...now I just have to learn how to weld :p: :cheers:

Beater
07-29-2007, 10:00 PM
start flux core... seriously.

Normally I say torch, but since you already have the machine (same lil mig as me) burn at least two small rolls of flux first then try with gas...

j

Rezarf
07-29-2007, 10:11 PM
start flux core... seriously.

Normally I say torch, but since you already have the machine (same lil mig as me) burn at least two small rolls of flux first then try with gas...

j

I have spent two years with my little 110v flux core, time to step it up? Or is there an advantage to learning a new machine in flux core first?

thanks-

Drew

Uncle Ben
07-30-2007, 12:19 AM
I have spent two years with my little 110v flux core, time to step it up? Or is there an advantage to learning a new machine in flux core first?

thanks-

Drew

No!

mhdsummers
07-30-2007, 11:27 AM
You are welcome to bring it over to my place and try it with gas. It really makes a world of difference.

Sent you a PM.

Uncle Ben
07-30-2007, 11:54 AM
Drew,
Do you have C02/Argon gas yet along with a regulator and hose? If you don't you can borrow my small one from my little mig as I'm only using it for splatter wire tacking and light welds right now. I think that bottle has quite a bit left in it.

Rezarf
07-30-2007, 12:19 PM
Drew,
Do you have C02/Argon gas yet along with a regulator and hose? If you don't you can borrow my small one from my little mig as I'm only using it for splatter wire tacking and light welds right now. I think that bottle has quite a bit left in it.

Mike and UB-

I am already set up with gas. I am going to burn straight CO2 until it runs out. I have two 20lb tanks here at the house and one is full. I will step up to the Argon CO2 mix after the wallet begins to swell again. A few fellas in the welding industry on Mud said I will have a little more splatter with straight CO2 but not much. I am just practicing for a while and learning to manipulate the puddle.:D

I will post up my progress to get some feedback.

Thanks!:thumb:

Drew

mhdsummers
07-30-2007, 02:12 PM
This is a pretty good place to get advice and tips.

http://www.hobartwelders.com/mboard/

Rezarf
07-30-2007, 03:08 PM
thanks Mike, good link

Beater
07-30-2007, 05:33 PM
i forgot.. you told me that already about upgading... my bad

Rezarf
07-31-2007, 10:53 AM
i forgot.. you told me that already about upgading... my bad

No worries! :thumb: :D