PDA

View Full Version : FJ-40 Radiator Replacement

RicardoJM
12-31-2007, 08:28 PM
The radiator on the FJ-40 leaked when I purchased it and was the primary reason I put it on a tow dolly to get it home. The PO used JB Weld to stem the flow so we could run the engine when I was looking it over. If anyone who can use/repair it wants an old radiator with a leaky top seam, it's yours for the asking.

As it turns out there was a new, never installed 4 row radiator on Craigslist. I did some research and found this is the same radiator you get at radiatorbarn and has a good reputation among those that have replaced their FJ-40 radiators on MUD.

This is the first time I have ever replaced a radiator. From a General Tech perspective this is a job that as a novice, I would be willing to help someone with. All in all it is pretty straight forward and is one procedure the CHILTON manual does have very well described in the 1970-88 Repair Manual. That said, it was not without a bit of drama.

My project for yesterday was to remove the old radiator. The part of the process of draining the radiator did not go smooth. I put a tube on the drain plug, loosened it up and watched a little fluid drain out into the tub. I removed the cap to release the vacuum and a little more fluid drained out - no where near 17 quarts. I figured the leak must have been bigger than I realized and the fluid had mostly drained out at the POs house. Well, as soon as I disconnected the bottom hose, the rest of the 17 quarts came out. A fair amount of it made it into the tub, the rest on the garage floor. We did take about 10 minutes to get the old radiator out (see below) and then my boys and I proceeded to spend the next couple of hours cleaning up our mess.:rant: I was too wrapped up in the moment to stop and take pictures and wish I would have.