PDA

View Full Version : Ask Weeves


Uncle Ben
01-13-2008, 11:35 AM
Has there been an issue with the speed of the RS site? I do not have a problem anywhere else but often the RS site will bog on me especially when posting. I clear my cashe regularly. This happens on both my desktop and my laptop.

RockRunner
01-13-2008, 10:23 PM
I have it happen at work a lot. I will go to the next page and it will just hang. It happens at home too but not as much, seems daytime is the worst.

Myredyota
01-13-2008, 11:16 PM
Happens here too!:rant:

Red_Chili
01-14-2008, 08:39 AM
Sometimes reply to posts simply hangs. Usually 'quick reply'. I copy, go to advanced, paste, whammo its done. Weird.

Also had a couple instances where I could not get a reply from the website, "Page cannot be displayed".

corsair23
01-14-2008, 06:12 PM
Just so you all don't feel all alone, I've experienced it all as well. Sometimes I can get to the main page but not the forumns...Replys hanging...etc...etc...

In general though things pretty stable, just not 100% all of the time. I seem to run into problems more often when I'm typing up some long winded reply - maybe the site knows what is best ;)

wesintl
01-14-2008, 06:45 PM
I haven't really experienced any imho but I don't post nearly as much as UB ;). I haven't been online nearly as much though this week. If you can send me the date and time when this slowness occurs I can fwd it onto the host. I doubt it'll do a whole lot of good tho. We probably just experience some lag between the widoz box and the db which I can't do much about. I'll look into it and see if either matt of kipper have any other ideas as well.

Convert
01-14-2008, 09:25 PM
Just so you all don't feel all alone, I've experienced it all as well. Sometimes I can get to the main page but not the forumns...Replys hanging...etc...etc...

In general though things pretty stable, just not 100% all of the time. I seem to run into problems more often when I'm typing up some long winded reply - maybe the site knows what is best ;)

X2

Hulk
01-15-2008, 03:54 PM
It's actually been running pretty fast for me lately. Wasn't there an "optimize the database" button you pushed a while ago?

Uncle Ben
02-10-2008, 09:55 PM
Wes,
I really like what ya did with the place! Nice digs! :thumb::thumb:

Uncle Ben
02-26-2008, 12:35 PM
Whats with the lock down on the Craigslist thread? :confused:

wesintl
02-26-2008, 12:42 PM
100 pages is the limit. :cheers:

Well done Nakman! I wonder where the $5 vise is...

Uncle Ben
02-26-2008, 12:47 PM
100 pages is the limit. :cheers:

Well done Nakman! I wonder where the $5 vise is...


?????? I'm even more confused! What about a $5 vise and the tread is 25 pages.... :homer:

nakman
02-26-2008, 11:17 PM
The $5 vice was in my first post, the one that started it all.

subzali
02-28-2008, 08:32 AM
Changing topic: is there a good reason why I would be able to access the forum from my work computer but not my home computer? I cleared my cache etc. in Firefox and restarted, and even tried IE, but it's not working, and it looks like people were on and posting last night :bawl: I can reach IH8MUD just fine...

Shark Bait
02-28-2008, 08:37 AM
What error do you get?

Romer
02-28-2008, 09:27 AM
Uncle Ben hasn't been able to get on in two days. he and I are trading e-mails. he cleared his cookies and shut down his firewall. Thinking some IPs may be getting blocked

subzali
02-28-2008, 09:39 AM
What error do you get?

I think it says that the server can't be found.

Uncle Ben
02-28-2008, 10:53 AM
I'm baaaacccckkkk. What a PITA! I ended up renewing my IP address, rebuilding my TCP stack and rebooting my router. This was in addition to clearing cookies and cache. Only RS was the issue. What is the theory? :confused:

wesintl
02-28-2008, 10:58 AM
So you're the reason for our server slowness ;)

Uncle Ben
02-28-2008, 11:02 AM
So you're the reason for our server slowness ;)

Yep WJS..........................Weeves Job Security! ;) Get Sofie on it and quit messin' around! :bowdown::Princess: :lmao:

wesintl
02-28-2008, 11:13 AM
Subzali? are you on AOL too?

subzali
02-28-2008, 11:17 AM
nope. Qwest.

Hants
02-28-2008, 11:27 AM
Wes: Could the hosting company be making DNS reconfigurations?

Uncle Ben
02-28-2008, 12:14 PM
Subzali? are you on AOL too?

Robbie is on Concast, FYI.

Uncle Ben
02-28-2008, 12:15 PM
Subzali? are you on AOL too?


I use AOL for e-mail but IP is Qwest with Firefox browser

Romer
02-28-2008, 01:14 PM
Damn it Wes, you said it would take him at least 3 days to figure this out!

corsair23
02-28-2008, 02:18 PM
Changing topic: is there a good reason why I would be able to access the forum from my work computer but not my home computer? I cleared my cache etc. in Firefox and restarted, and even tried IE, but it's not working, and it looks like people were on and posting last night :bawl: I can reach IH8MUD just fine...


Same exact problem for me...Running IE (7.0) with Qwest as the IP. I get the typical server can not be found error. Cleaned out my cache etc. etc.

I go through withdrawals every night now :(

I got to thinking that maybe the host was starting to block certain IPs? I'll try again tonight. Qwest does dynamic IP addressing so typically each day the IP address is different and on top of that I am behind a router :confused:


I can get in just fine from work (shhh...don't tell anyone) running IE (6.0) which FWIW is also Qwest IP

subzali
02-28-2008, 02:33 PM
I rerouted my withdrawal syndrome and got a lot of studying done for the General exam :D Wish I knew what was going on with my computer though...:( I don't know THAT much about 'em.

corsair23
02-28-2008, 10:36 PM
YEEHAW I could get in!!

Now the question is why tonight and not that last two nights :confused: