PDA

View Full Version : 3 speed vs 4 speed pics?


timmbuck2
02-25-2008, 01:15 PM
OK, been searching on Mud and Google and SOR and various places, and do not have a definitive picture of the differences between 3 speed and 4 speed trannies and tcases. Any hints? Could be helpful as I search for the elusive 4 speed tcase...

Thanks.

T

subzali
02-25-2008, 01:34 PM
Does the 3spd tcase have an aluminum housing like the 4spd?

treerootCO
02-25-2008, 02:02 PM
OK, been searching on Mud and Google and SOR and various places, and do not have a definitive picture of the differences between 3 speed and 4 speed trannies and tcases. Any hints? Could be helpful as I search for the elusive 4 speed tcase...

Thanks.

T

A three speed transmission is the size of a cantaloupe. A four speed transmission is the size of a watermelon.

T-cases are all spec-ed out here:
http://www.ih8mud.com/tech/cases.php
and
http://www.kinzers.com/don/landcruiser/tcase_tech/
and
http://cjford.stormloader.com/Tech/transfer1.htm
and...

Does the 3spd tcase have an aluminum housing like the 4spd?

yes

nuclearlemon
02-25-2008, 02:21 PM
input cutout on the bellhousing on a three speed is round, 4 speed is peanut shaped

timmbuck2
02-25-2008, 02:31 PM
input cutout on the bellhousing on a three speed is round, 4 speed is peanut shaped

does that mean the tranny itself has a difference?


ok, thanks for the links Root, but I am more confused now. :rolleyes: (big surprise) As I understand it, I would need a "4 speed" tcase to work with my 4 speed tranny...the pics from the links show 3 "3 speed" tcases and 3 "4 speed tcases" and show the differences between a brittle case and a softer case, and between a 3 speed case and a non-USA case, but the 70 - 1/75 (3 speed) case looks exactly like the '74 - 7/78 and the 7/78 - 7/80 4 speed tcases. What obvious thing am I overlooking here? :) Thanks.

T

wesintl
02-25-2008, 03:11 PM
does that mean the tranny itself has a difference?


Yes.

If you are going with a 4 speed tranny. Any of the cases will bolt up. The earlier 3 speed requires a different bearing and some adjustment. Zepp notes all this in his engine refresh thread.

4 speed
http://www.nis-photo.com/mudbay/_MG_6259.jpg

3 speed
http://forum.ih8mud.com/919570-post6.html

timmbuck2
02-25-2008, 09:21 PM
sorry, I meant that does the tranny itself have a circular piece vs a figure 8?



Yes.

If you are going with a 4 speed tranny. Any of the cases will bolt up. The earlier 3 speed requires a different bearing and some adjustment. Zepp notes all this in his engine refresh thread.

4 speed
http://www.nis-photo.com/mudbay/_MG_6259.jpg

3 speed
http://forum.ih8mud.com/919570-post6.html

wesintl
02-25-2008, 09:35 PM
Yes on the 4 speed input shaft end it's more of an 8.

Shark Bait
02-25-2008, 09:47 PM
Timm, You're still welcome to my 4-speed t-case shell. It was set up with 3-speed gears when I took them out to put them in my Orion. So the idler gear should be "set". And my offer is still good for helping you put some 3-speed gears into the 4-speed case if you get the rebuild kit and the conversion gear kit. The only other thing you will need besides a gasket to go between the tranny and the transfer case is the bolts for the 4-speed t-case to bolt to the 4-speed tranny. I don't have any extra of those. :D

Shark Bait
02-25-2008, 10:10 PM
Bring it over here. I even have a parts washer. :D

Rzeppa
02-26-2008, 05:07 PM
Zepp notes all this in his engine refresh thread.

That would be here (http://risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/showthread.php?t=1629).

Rzeppa
02-26-2008, 05:11 PM
input cutout on the bellhousing on a three speed is round, 4 speed is peanut shaped

Below, a 3 speed housing is on the left, 4 speed on the right.

Rzeppa
02-26-2008, 05:16 PM
The only other thing you will need besides a gasket to go between the tranny and the transfer case is the bolts for the 4-speed t-case to bolt to the 4-speed tranny. I don't have any extra of those. :D
As I discovered when I did my 4 speed tranny to 3 speed t-case conversion, you will also need a spacer for the tranny output shaft so the washer and bolt will fit, and you *may* need a spacer for the PTO gear if the t-case originally had a PTO gear.

I had a number of "gotchas" that came up during the install which I had never read about or heard about before.