PDA

View Full Version : Chains!

Hulk
01-05-2006, 10:22 PM
So if I want to purchase some chains for my FZJ80 before the Sunday Snow+Pizza Run, where should I get them? I'm running BFG AT 285/78 R16 tires (virtually identical to a 33" tire). Is there a big difference in quality? Pep Boys? CarQuest? Napa?

And... how do ya put 'em on? I'm a complete tire chain noob.

TIA.
:beer::beer::beer:

Shark Bait
01-05-2006, 11:20 PM
I've got a pair, I think. Should they go on the front or the rear?

powderpig
01-06-2006, 08:16 AM
May want to ask treeroot where he got his, nice oval square link style. It is best on all 4 wheel. but when going up, on front, when goin down on rear. Reasons are you want to chains to do the best for you, so going up you are pulling through stuff and most of the weight is over the pulling axle. When going down, if on front, rear end likes to come around so chains go on rear. Short stuff not a big matter, but long down hills with ice, it is best to have the chains on the rear.
Antother method I have seen reccommened is oposite corners of the truck, one front, one rear. I guess the thought is one will bite to not allow the swaping of either end. And that way if no lockers a wheel will find some traction and pull you forward. Good for a experiment if want to try that method. good luck robbie

treerootCO
01-06-2006, 08:27 AM
http://tirechain.com/square_alloy_cross_chain.htm

219 for all four delivered for 37s. 33s run around 150 for all four.

JadeRunner
01-06-2006, 06:58 PM
Chris,
I'll take that one set of chains if you find them and Matt doesn't want them. My 285 mtr's are 33.1 x 11.5. I can only ever run them on my rear due to clearance issues in the front. I don't need anything nice. Won't plan to use them unless it's absolutly nessessary (ice etc.).

Thanks,

gcmandrake
01-06-2006, 08:38 PM