PDA

View Full Version : Programing a rig with a MAC?


Corbet
03-04-2008, 01:20 AM
Just as the title says, any of the software for programing radios work with Apple/Mac computers?

I searched a little at Ham City and everything I found was Windows based.

Seldom Seen
03-04-2008, 02:22 AM
http://www.machamradio.com/


http://www.dogparksoftware.com/MacMemoriesManager.html

DaveInDenver
03-04-2008, 07:00 AM
Yeah, not much natively works for Mac. We use Parallels Desktop to run a copy of XP Home. The latest OS X 10.5 comes with Boot Camp, which lets you dual boot an Intel-based Mac. That's another option to run Windows. But you're gonna have to have access to Windows...

http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/
http://www.parallels.com/en/products/desktop/
http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/bootcamp.html

Corbet
03-04-2008, 10:47 AM
How inconvenient is it to program with a desk top? I have an old PC at home and my work one of course.

I don't think the basic Macbook we got has enough memory and such to effectively run Parallels.

DaveInDenver
03-04-2008, 10:53 AM
How inconvenient is it to program with a desk top? I have an old PC at home and my work one of course.
I program the handheld here at work with a desktop, but the mobile in the truck is a pain. Either you have to drag it inside and rig up a bench supply or drag the computer outside to the truck. A laptop would be really handy for programming the mobile.

Corbet
03-04-2008, 11:23 AM
Is programing a one time thing or ongoing?

Rigging a bench power supply wouldn't be that hard. But removing it from the truck all the time would be a PITA.

corsair23
03-04-2008, 11:30 AM
Do they make really long connection cords? :hill:

Seriously though, say you could get within 100' of your computer and run a long cable out to the rig? I'm thinking I could get a rig in my LX within 25-30' of my desktop by running a cable out the window :dunno:

Corbet
03-04-2008, 11:39 AM
I could get within 25' at work. More like 100 yards at home :hill:

Uncle Ben
03-04-2008, 02:16 PM
Why don't we all load our programming software to the club laptop. Then we can easily create common programming speadsheets. That way when ever we are in the field we could easily jump into any of our friends vehicles if need be and quickly pull up what we need and communicate! Those without laptops can still easily upload programming while at CM or at club meetings.

Corbet
03-04-2008, 03:00 PM
We don't need that kind of creative thinking around here!

That sounds great to me :bowdown:

How would that work with different brand rigs?

Uncle Ben
03-04-2008, 03:04 PM
We don't need that kind of creative thinking around here!

That sounds great to me :bowdown:

How would that work with different brand rigs?


That is the part about loading software! Someone still needs to do the software purchase the first time. I now have SW for the Yaesu VX-7r HT and the FT8800r. I think someone has SW for the 7800 in the club? If we all loaded up the club LT with the software and as a club we make the perfect database to upload we would all benefit greatly! The cool thing was everyone would have basically the same stored memory so our licensed wives or any of our licensed selfs could go easily use anyone else's in the clubs machines easily ad very quickly without losing any user settings!

corsair23
03-04-2008, 03:05 PM
Why don't we all load our programming software to the club laptop.

We have a club laptop? This club ROCKS :D

Uncle Ben
03-04-2008, 03:09 PM
We have a club laptop? This club ROCKS :D

Well the club has a CM laptop. :rolleyes: