PDA

View Full Version : Lets talk antenna for an 80

Corbet
03-10-2008, 12:49 PM
Whats the consensus on where to mount your antenna on an 80. I know the middle of the roof would be the best but I'm not drilling a hole there. So:

1. Any advantage to mounting on the hood verse rear lift gate?
2. Is there any one model antenna that everyone recommends?
3. Anything else I should know?

Hants
03-10-2008, 01:06 PM
1. Dunno, I'm just a noob. But Dave A. says I can't have any more kids if I transmit at 50W and am closer than 6 feet. :hill: I'm mounting mine on the rear hatch for now. I'm seriously considering removing my roof rack and mounting antenna(s) on the roof (out of the way of my pod).

2. Comet SBB-1NMO is short and flexible -- survives trail (ab)use well. I also have a Diamond SG7500NMO for higher gain.

3. The rain in Spain falls mainly on the plain.

treerootCO
03-10-2008, 01:22 PM
The Wilson brand antenna seem to work better than any other models I have seen for CB.

http://www.wilsonantenna.com/

corsair23
03-10-2008, 01:31 PM
I like Romer's setup...Reminds me of a little cellular antenna attached to the rear gate and it can be folded down parallel to the roof :D

Romer, care to post up the specs on that antenna?

Nathaniel has a nice one too on his 80 that allows the antenna to be removed and a cap screwed on when not in use.

I'm leaning toward something like what Romer has though because unlike my CB and antenna (which are NEVER on unless I'm on a trail) I'll probably actually use the rig just for fun. Case in point was on Saturday when helping Nakman move...Timm and I could have been chatting with Bruce, Romer, and Nakman on the drive :thumb:

The trick antenna is the one that will raise and lower via a motor. Seems to fit the "mold" of a LX :hill:

nuclearlemon
03-10-2008, 03:38 PM