PDA

View Full Version : APRS & internet gateways


Tanglefoot
04-24-2008, 02:15 PM
I've gotten a packet station going again for the first time in probably 10 years and I'm trying to get caught up with APRS. It sure is fun.

I have a simple APRS station up on 144.39 at night with the UI-View software. It's amazing to see the mobile and weather stations and be able to access data like wind speed and temp, and the speed and heading of mobile stations.

Here's something I never heard about before though. People are connecting their APRS nodes to the internet so now you can go to websites like this to view locations:
http://map.findu.com/K0RM (not me...I'm still trying to figure out how to get mine to show up on there.

Also, you don't need a GPS to set up a APRS base station. You can just look up your coordinates and put them into the software. You don't even need to do that if you just want to see other stations.

I'm going to start playing with tracking soon. I'll start just by throwing the computer, GPS, TNC and radio in the car. I'm looking at these little tracker kits though...they replace the TNC and the computer to make a neat little portable package. Just plug the GPS in one end, the radio in the other and go.

http://products.foxdelta.com/foxtrak.htm

They also have little trackers that include the radio too! They have little single-frequency transmitters built in so all you need is the GPS.

http://www.byonics.com/microtrak/mt300.php

I haven't done much of this, and I'm way behind the times, but it sure is fun to play with!

73,

Eric/KG0YS

Mendocino
04-26-2008, 12:21 AM
Eric,

This is very cool.:thumb: I will buy a Kenwood TM-V710A in the near future and fool with APRS. I am very keen on the GPS side as I have a little knowledge there.

Jeff

Tanglefoot
04-29-2008, 02:21 PM
Ah nice! That's that radio that's all setup for APRS and can display station info isn't it?

I'm just using an old HT that probably has no idea what this position data is all about. :D