PDA

View Full Version : Septic systems, who's an expert?

Corbet
06-06-2008, 05:47 PM
Well who here is? :confused:

Uncle Ben
06-12-2008, 11:15 AM
Well who here is? :confused:

Corbet,
I just spied this thread......what do you need to know? I carry a Waste Water Certification but I deal mainly with activated sludge and not so much with leach fields but maybe I can help...

nakman
06-12-2008, 11:35 AM
I have a lot of experience filling them.. :rolleyes:

what's the issue?

Corbet
06-12-2008, 02:29 PM
Well, the home we are buying has some issues with its leach field. At the time I posted this thread originally I was looking for some advice on how to inspect it myself. That time has passed. But here is where we are now:

We had a home inspection, and when the inspector turned on all the fixtures in the home, water purged out an inspection tube at the end of the septic field. He estimated that 125 gallons was sent down the system in about 25 minutes time. There was some evidence of solids around the tube as well.

The septic tank was full and the seller had it pumped after that inspection.

A few days following I had the local health department go out for a second inspection. It passed at that time.

Anyway I feel that either the lack of maintenance has resulted in solids entering the leach field reducing its effectiveness or it was not deigned large enough in the first place.

The field is an absorptive type. Its on a bench in the middle of a 25+ degree slope. The perc rate at time of construction was 1" per 45 min. However the health department questions that based on neighboring properties. System installed at time of home construction in 1998.

What are the thoughts on expanding the field or simply replacing it with a new design?

What additional info is needed from me?

Uncle Ben
06-12-2008, 03:13 PM