PDA

View Full Version : 1980 FJ40--A Modest Proposal

stanmich
07-21-2008, 03:15 PM
Hi all. I was a Denver resident for 4 years (3 as a project Cruiser owner). I’ve lurked over at the LCML for quite a while, and lurk around here every so often. I even attended a few Rising Sun meetings, but never made full admission as I could rarely get away to come wheel with you all.

Back story:
In July I was hired to come work as a teacher in Columbia, MO. After 20 years of living in NJ, TX and Denver, the chance to live this close to my wife’s and my family in our home state was an exciting one.

Not really expecting a relocation to come so soon, my 1980 FJ40 was in a few pieces. Not really a restoration, just a few cosmetics along with the other improvements to try to make her road worthy.

Pressed for time in the relocation, I was approached by the shop teacher at our school with what seemed to be a good deal. Let his students practice their welding/auto body skills on that old rusty tub. Would I be willing to sell it to him? I counteroffered: Fix the truck up, sell it, and I’ll split the proceeds, capping my half at $2000, with the rest going toward the shop program. If indeed they did such a great job that it sold for over $4000, they earned the extra, and could keep it. He agreed, and we had a deal.

Unfortunately, the guy had “buyer’s remorse” and backed out of the deal. This wasn’t really a problem...except he didn’t tell me. Instead, I heard about it through the school principal--on the day I was closing up the U-haul and pulling out!

The principal was a good guy, though, and he said he’d be willing to let me keep it on campus until I could come back for it. We figured I’d be back summer 2008 to slap it back together and trailer it home to Columbia, MO.