PDA

View Full Version : FJ40 Items For Sale and Want to Buy

Air Randy
08-20-2008, 04:01 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new to fixing up LC's, fell into owning a 1974 FJ40 when my son needed to part with his. He bought it and it sat in his driveway for 2 years. I've had it for a month and it's already undergone major changes. I have no idea what the stuff I'm taking off is worth, I'm sure you guys will let me know.

1-I took the factory hard top off since I want a soft top on it. It looks like it was never off before, there is no rust that I can see on the inside or out though there is no headliner. There is a 1/2" hole in the center where an antenna was installed. It has the lift up rear window, the handle works, the gas struts are good and all the glass & seals are good. Everything is a very faded smurf blue color. I'm posting pictures but they may be poor quality since I had to reduce them so much to fit the web site requirements.

2-I have the factory hard doors. I am no expert but I don't think they have had bondo on them, no rust inside or out that I can see and all of the hardware is intact. All the glass is good, windows roll up/down, wing vents close, etc.

3-Stock distributor/coil/ignitor/plug wires. It ran fine with this but I wanted an HEI distributor in it so I don't have to mess with points in the future.

4-I have the stock Aisin carb w/manual choke and rod linkage. It runs OK (still on the engine) at speed but idles rough. I figure it needs rebuilt and I'm planning to replace it with a weber since I'm no good at rebuilding carbs.

5-Stock front/rear leaf springs, shackles and 4 Ryder XT gas shocks (all seem to be in good shape) w/steering stabilizer. The stock springs didn't seem droopy but the bushings were shot. Since I wanted bigger tires anyways I replaced the whole sheebang with a 4" lift suspension system.