PDA

View Full Version : FJ 40 rewire


DesertRat
09-29-2008, 07:42 PM
Hey guys
The wiring in my 71 FJ is shot, rotted, broken, bent and blue.
Does any one know if they make a complete rewire kit and where I might find it?
Also any thoughts on upgrades to do if I go to the trouble to rewire the whole thing.
thanks for the help
Desertrat

MDH33
09-29-2008, 08:07 PM
There's a Painless kit I believe. Also might consider pulling the harness, laying it out and trying to duplicate it using new connectors and wire since a 40 harness isn't too complex. Great way to become familiar with your wiring. :thumb:

Azrael
09-29-2008, 08:18 PM
I was considering the painless harness after I bought mine. In the end, I ended up patching and repairing the stock harness. The painless kit is nice, but there are several differences in the way Toyota chose to wire these trucks compared to the generic standard that Painless ran with. It will take some creative tinkering to get it to work 100%. However, it'd probably be worth it to upgrade to a modern fuse box that can handle more power needs, as well as the assurance of having rot-free wires throughout.

nuclearlemon
09-29-2008, 09:59 PM
the only new harness will be an aftermarket "universal" harness. painless, ezwire...there are a few more, just can't think of them now. none will be completely plug and play, but since older cruisers are so spartan, they're really not that bad.

DesertRat
09-30-2008, 08:16 PM
Thanks all.
I looked up the painless and it seems to be complete. I also thought, as one of you suggested, that because the cruiser is pretty basic I could just lay it all out and duplicate. I think in the end I will go with a painless and see where it gets me.
Thanks a ton for the thoughts

wesintl
09-30-2008, 09:05 PM
i'd keep an eye out on mud too for someone parting a 71. You might be able to pick up a good harness for not that much $$.