PDA

View Full Version : extending the wires between dizzy and coil pack


nuclearlemon
11-11-2008, 08:03 PM
i'm upgrading the dizzy/coil/igniter on the 45 to one from an fj60. problem is the wires to between the coil pack and dizzy are about 8-10" too short. the one writeup i can find on the swap mentions making new wires using industrial video control cable. it also states that shielded wire must be used (kinda makes sense even though i'm electronically challenged). i looked on the radio shack website and couldn't really find anything, but i'm also not sure of what i'm looking for.

any clues where to look? or what to look for?

i could always just use regular wire and heatshrink some tinfoil over it:D jk

theboomboom
11-11-2008, 08:11 PM
I stumbled across these when shopping around for wires for the bronc.

http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=ACC-4021&N=700+4294925143+4294864973+115&autoview=sku

They appear to be universal, diy kits that include the wire and boots. May be more than you need, but hopefully it gives you an idea of what to look for :)

nuclearlemon
11-11-2008, 09:15 PM
wrong wires. i don't need plug wires, i need the small wires that connect the ignitor on the coil to the dizzy

theboomboom
11-11-2008, 09:24 PM
wrong wires. i don't need plug wires, i need the small wires that connect the ignitor on the coil to the dizzy

doh, should've read closer. i remember we had to fuss with the grounding of a similar wire on the 40, but our issue was different from your's.

rover67
11-12-2008, 07:44 AM
go to radio shack and just ask for shielded cable, they'll show you a few options.

this is what i've seen used before, but i don't know if the wire is heavy enough. if you buy a spool, i'll snag 10' or so from ya for my VSS sensor. I think it needs it.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062643

also, i still have your tranny jack.. i'l get it back to ya soon.

nuclearlemon
11-12-2008, 07:55 AM
i was looking at that yesterday. can't remember what size the wire is (actually started this a few weeks ago), need to check the gauge again. the radio shack stuff is only 26 ga. sucky thing is i only need a couple feet:(

rover67
11-12-2008, 08:36 AM
i'll split it with ya...

gr8fulabe
03-02-2011, 05:03 PM
super old thread, but I am doing this now, and I need to know why this wire needs to be shielded, if anyone can help to provide insight? Also, is it actually possible to just wrap tin foil around it? What would that do specifically?
Thanks,
Abe

RicardoJM
03-03-2011, 07:51 AM
super old thread, but I am doing this now, and I need to know why this wire needs to be shielded, if anyone can help to provide insight? Also, is it actually possible to just wrap tin foil around it? What would that do specifically?
Thanks,
Abe

I don't know why it needs to be shielded. I needed to extend my wires and did not use shielded wire. Everything has been working just fine for over a year.

DaveInDenver
03-03-2011, 08:03 AM
I don't know why it needs to be shielded. I needed to extend my wires and did not use shielded wire. Everything has been working just fine for over a year.
It would need to be shielded so that interference doesn't cause misfires. The signal from the pick-up is not very strong. As long as you used twisted pair cable then you should be OK, although shielded is better (belt and suspenders sorta thing). I don't think the stock pick-up cable in my truck is shielded now that I think about it.