PDA

View Full Version : Feeling out a new car

subzali
12-14-2008, 06:31 PM
So here's where I'm going to write out my priorities list and also get input from you guys.

Here's my "dilemma": I have a 1991 (18 years old) 2wd Toyota Truck, extended cab, with 206K miles (picture link in sig line), netting around 23-25 mpg as a DD. I have done the head gasket and timing chain, though not at the same time and without doing other engine refresh things (like rings etc.), so as it drives now it's burning oil, which it NEVER did before and which I'm assuming is blowby past the rings due to the head being milled and increasing the compression slightly. That bothers me and though it's manageable I'm not sure how much of this time is borrowed until major engine work is going to be needed. I learned that although there are some things I can work on ok with vehicles, I am not a professional mechanic and now that I can afford it I am going to take vehicles to professionals for work like head gaskets etc. from now on.

In addition, the truck has over 200,000 and is 18 years old, and 2wd. There are only cosmetic flaws in it, I have tried to take good care of it, it has faded paint on the roof and the hood, and slight rust where the tailgate has a crease in it (under the topper liftgate, and only surface at this point, and slight bubbling at the top of the driver door, which I've addressed but could use some professional assistance as well. It needs new tires pretty soon too.