PDA

View Full Version : '91 minitruck rear brakes

subzali
01-09-2009, 04:26 PM
took a look-see at my rear brakes today and boy they need new shoes bad! How do I go about setting the adjuster back to "0" when I put the new shoes on?

Anything else I need to pay attention to while I'm back there? This is my first time into the rear brakes of this truck...could be the first time they've ever been touched.

DaveInDenver
01-09-2009, 04:43 PM
You apparently got the drum off, that's the PITA, getting the adjuster backed off to get the drum off. As an aside, this is why Toyota drums rock and a lot of the after market drums stink (not all, just the ones I've seen), those two threaded holes for the bolts to pop drums off. Brilliant!

I pull the brakes apart without spinning the adjuster back, then take the adjuster out, clean it out (all the brake dust mixed with grease makes a nice paste on the threads) and reassemble. I use regular brake grease and a good coat to seal the works. I feel you need to grease to keep them from freezing from rust or water, so it's a necessary devil. Just make sure that you are gentle with the little metal tab so that you don't bend it too much and make it ineffective. Do one side at a time, IIRC the adjusters are not the same (one is left hand threaded I think).

I uploaded the section from the FSM on the rears, both 4WD and the two 2WD types.