PDA

View Full Version : Help with Aux/Fog Switch Wiring

LARGEONE
01-25-2009, 10:42 AM
Yesterday I got around to installing a Slee wiring harness for my headlights and wanted to start attempting my "driving light" install. I have to admit...I am not good with electronics. There's a reason I graduated with a Civil Engineering degree and not Electrical, even though I originally went to college on an electrical engineering scholarship!!!

To add to the humor of my driving light install, I purchased a "Genuine Toyota" switch off e-b&* and I had a laugh when I see the outer package says "Made in USA" :)then I take the switch out and the back of the switch says "Made in China"!!! :mad:Check out the pics below.

OK, on to my help question...

The back of the switch has three tabs located and numbered 2, 3 & 4. Locations 1, 5 & 6 don't have tabs. I assume the three tabs are for switch power, ground, and ACC? Is this correct? If so, which number do you suppose is power, acc & ground?

The previous owner pulled switch power directly out of the fuse (just pinched the wire with the fuse). Should I tap switched power from the wire going to the high beam headlight? Or can I take it from the off-shoot from the Slee harness that is supposed to be for aux. lights? Or, is there a better place from which to tap power to the switch?

Thanks to all.

RockRunner
01-25-2009, 12:25 PM
Depends when you want the lights to come on. If you take it from the high beams they will only work with the highs. If you wire a separate power supply to them you can use them when ever. You can also give them dual power so when they are off but you hit your highs they still come on. I personally would do it the dual way, gives you more flexibility. You can use them with low or high or by themselves.

LARGEONE
01-25-2009, 12:49 PM
I like the idea of the dual power option...how would this be accomplished?