PDA

View Full Version : O2 Sensor Gaskets


Crash
03-27-2009, 03:41 PM
Received a shipment from John Hocker, OEM parts man deluxe, of two O2 sensors for the 62 today. As has been seen before, each O2 box's sealed package included not one, but two, gaskets. I don't recall ever hearing why Toyota does this and I have always installed new sensors with just one gasket with no apparant problems. Anyone in the know on why two gaskets are included with each sensor?

Beater
03-27-2009, 04:30 PM
I only ever seen 1 on my toyotas

Crash
03-27-2009, 05:20 PM
Just talked to BVB and he states that if Toyota provides two gaskets then use them both. Could be a depth thing or just a simple way of dealing with a warped exhaust bung that the sensors are bolthing up to or both. Good enough for me.
John, I haven't forgotten about the wheels and will try to dig them out this weekend - they were under about 15" of snow but that depth is diminishing rapidly.

Beater
03-28-2009, 06:36 AM
no hurries man...