PDA

View Full Version : Adjusting my TPS it is on and running


RockRunner
03-29-2009, 11:58 AM
So I installed my TPS unit a few days ago and the truck runs pretty good. This is what I have to ask;

I think I got it, It has a little stumble around 2500 rpm but very little. I was wondering if I can adjust the tps on the fly so to speak. Can I have the engine running and adjust the TPS and then check the throttle response? The other thing I can't find is the plug that you have to jump afterwards. There are two plugs that look like they should be the ones but don't want to mess it up.

There is a plug that has two slots and one that has three slots but only two are used. They say to jump it with a paperclip or something similar. I would try either one but am in fear that I will blow a fuse or something else.

Thanks in advance for any answers.

Robbie, thanks for all your help in Moab. It gave me nearly all the info and confidence to do this. I did it the long way but it was worth it as I know more now, thanks again :thumb:

DaveInDenver
03-29-2009, 03:31 PM
22R-E, right? You don't adjust the TPS while running, it's a feeler gage and screwdriver affair. There are two distinct regions that the TPS will sit, one is idle and the other is the linear throttle region. There is a crossing point and you will see your ohm meter jump when the wiper crosses it and it's just a few millimeters off the end stop.

It takes a little patience to get the set screws and TPS rotation right so that the throttle body butterfly turns into idle region, so I do the TPS setting with the dashpot removed and the throttle cable off. I also replaced the OEM set screws with ones with allen heads, particularly the one facing forward is a PITA to do with a screwdriver. I find an allen key with a ball head is easier to fiddle with. Some people never get it right and they never tell the ECU to go into idle, so it's pretty touchy.

Red_Chili
03-29-2009, 06:33 PM
Yep, it is NOT an adjust-by-feel or adjust-by-sound item. Feeler gauges only. And the jumper must be in place to take the ECM into tune mode, same as with timing.

RockRunner
03-29-2009, 06:37 PM
I think I got it right the very first time. When I set it up last Wednesday and took it for a run on Thursday I never let it really warm up. When I drove it today and let it warm up a little it ran nearly perfect. I did not have a stumble nor any other problems. I do need to buy that allen head set up like 4Crawler advertises, just in case. Next time I drive by the Metric bolt store or an Ace I will pick a couple of them up and replace the screws. Wish I had them when I had it all apart.

Thanks for the info, hopefully it will all run fine now.

RockRunner
03-29-2009, 06:41 PM
I did not have the jumper in place but it runs fine. Should I redo it with the jumper? The truck ran fine before the TPS went out and it ran fine once it came of idle.

I still don't know which of the two plugs I need to jump, any ideas?

Art Volmer
03-29-2009, 06:52 PM
It should be the plug with only two wires. You know it is the correct plug if the check engine light is flashing once it is jumped and should stop when jumper is removed.
Good luck with the fine tune. Art

Crash
03-29-2009, 06:57 PM
Yep, it is NOT an adjust-by-feel or adjust-by-sound item. Feeler gauges only. And the jumper must be in place to take the ECM into tune mode, same as with timing.

I'm missing what you are saying Bill. The first part about feeler gauges is right. When adjusting the TPS, it is only electrically connected to the ohm meter.

RockRunner
03-29-2009, 06:58 PM
Thanks, I didn't want to plug into the wrong one. Guess I will head out to the garage again for some fine tuning.

DaveInDenver
03-30-2009, 05:50 AM
I'm missing what you are saying Bill. The first part about feeler gauges is right. When adjusting the TPS, it is only electrically connected to the ohm meter.
That was true on my TPS, which I installed and set on the bench. There are 4 tabs inside the connector on the TPS where you take your measurements. You have the TPS connector pulled off. You can diagnose the TPS circuit from inside the cab by measuring voltage at the ECU, but that's not the procedure to set it.

FWIW, I just used stainless allen head bolts that I got at A&A, nothing fancy.

Also a misadjusted TPS might run fine (or even great) and you may never know except that you get crappy fuel economy or maybe an off chance of failing an emissions test. You read often on Yotatech and stuff where people set their limit screws wrong and never actual go into real idle, they just use the bypass screw on the throttle body to turn the idle down to ~1000 RPM. Might mess up the cold start high idle, I dunno.

Red_Chili
03-30-2009, 08:23 AM
I'm missing what you are saying Bill. The first part about feeler gauges is right. When adjusting the TPS, it is only electrically connected to the ohm meter.
Just part of the tune procedure, to jumper T and E1. If things can't be made to run right at tune idle, something else is wrong.

http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTricks/index.shtml#TimingCheckConnector

Good idea to check for any codes, Tom. You may need to pull the fuse and clear what is currently stored, then go wheelin' for a while!

RockRunner
03-30-2009, 09:19 AM
Dave and Bill, I understand the problems I may have and I need to do an emission test too. I will try the jumper set up and see what I come up with.

Bill, I would love to pull the codes but don't have a code reader. Are you still up for helping me a bit in trade for a Battery????

PS what fuse would I need to pull? Can I just drive it around for a while?

Red_Chili
03-30-2009, 09:26 AM
Pulling the codes on an OBD1 system is a simple matter of counting flashes of the check engine light. The easiest way to reset the codes is to pull the battery, but then, you lose all your radio presets too... :lmao:

Happy to help, most days I get home fairly early in the afternoon. Not so lately, work has been grinding on me.

DaveInDenver
03-30-2009, 10:39 AM
Pulling the codes on an OBD1 system is a simple matter of counting flashes of the check engine light. The easiest way to reset the codes is to pull the battery, but then, you lose all your radio presets too... :lmao:

Happy to help, most days I get home fairly early in the afternoon. Not so lately, work has been grinding on me.
Attached the PDF of the manual sections on diagnosing using the CEL on a 22R-E. The hardest part is counting the pauses in the event you have more than one code stored.

Also attached the section on the throttle body (and how to check the TPS).

I'll say it again, thank you TTORA for the online FSM!
http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/

RockRunner
03-30-2009, 10:47 AM
Thanks guys.

Dave I have the whole FSM for our trucks but not printed. That is what I have a "garage" laptop for:D I will be printing out the PDF files you send me, thanks again.

Bill any night you want to come over I am free. Nothing to do anymore at night:(

RockRunner
03-30-2009, 11:02 AM
Dave, after reading your PDF files I noticed I did not do many of the things it asked for:eek:. Looks like I need to redo some of it. But it runs so nice right now:confused:

Back to work I go:mad:

Red_Chili
03-30-2009, 12:00 PM
There is always the "if it ain't broke don't fix it" approach.












Yeah, never worked for me either. :lmao: Too OCD.

DaveInDenver
03-30-2009, 12:08 PM
There is always the "if it ain't broke don't fix it" approach.
If the engine had good power, idled nice and got reasonably good mileage (at least 15 MPG, probably touching 18~20 MPG even in your truck), that would be my approach as well. If you have good power and get only 12 MPG, then I would tinker with it.

Red_Chili
03-30-2009, 02:21 PM
Or 9mpg wheeling...

DaveInDenver
03-30-2009, 02:33 PM
Or 9mpg wheeling...
Yeah, I guess people who actually get to do anything but commute to work in their trucks would probably have a better feel for their 4wd-low economy. :-/ My MPG had dropped recently to about 16MPG and I was stumped. That is until I opened the air filter box and noticed where there used to be an air filter I had a paper-backed wall of dirt, Miller moths and dog hair. New air filter = happy Dave again.

RockRunner
03-30-2009, 05:27 PM
I will take it to the emission station and find out real quick:eek:. Everything seems to run just fine and with my set up I was still getting 19 mpg:bowdown: Only Toyota can do something like that and a masterful builder:rolleyes:

I will follow up and let you guys know what the result is.

PS Bill what did you tell me I needed to get for my rear springs? I thought it was a U bolt type item but not sure how it would secure to stay in place. Can you remind a forgetful me???:o

PSS How is the knee replacement deal going? My right knee is killing me everyday and I am very close to doing it.