PDA

View Full Version : Comcast 8MB service


treerootCO
03-14-2006, 06:29 PM
I upgraded to the 8MB service

8.4MB download and 768 upload!!

Had one small problem though. I went around and around with their techs, one house visit, etc....
The fix was I had to pick up a modem that supports DOCSIS 2.0 and now it works great

60wag
03-14-2006, 06:30 PM
Wow! How fast is the download? :)

wesintl
03-14-2006, 08:01 PM
8.4 lol what's that run from comcast?

I can only muster about 1400 down and 800 up. with 1.5k dsl.

Romer
03-14-2006, 08:40 PM
I have Comcast service. How much extra is it

treerootCO
03-14-2006, 09:26 PM
39.95 per month, for the first 3 months, as an introductory price. 52 after that.

http://www.comcast.com/Support/Corp1/FAQ/FaqDetail_2427.html

you can check to see if your current modem supports it.

treerootCO
03-14-2006, 10:01 PM
not the best thing for measuring speed but....

www.speakeasy.net

Rzeppa
03-14-2006, 11:55 PM
Hey this isn't fair. I went from 56K dial up (In reality 3.5 kB/S) to 1.5Mbit DSL last month and have found no difference in the DSL to our T1 at work. After a certain point, what's the difference?

Hulk
03-15-2006, 12:09 AM
Dude, that's wicked fast. Here's my Comcast connection:

Shark Bait
03-15-2006, 01:22 AM
Wow. My Comcast is pretty good, I guess. :D

nakman
03-15-2006, 08:59 AM
Oh man, we're slackin' here..

nuclearlemon
03-15-2006, 09:04 AM
7117 and 285...no clue what that means tho

wesintl
03-15-2006, 09:23 AM
Really it all depends on what your doing. Working remote and uploading large files for me 1.5k dsl was fine because the upload speed is about the same as the higher dl speeds plus I got a dedicated line. I was mostly uploading files to cvs. Some of the cable companies used to be a pain in the butt about some things that made it more difficult for an individual to work remote. I guess they've cure that though. That's gotta be a sweet connection mike :blah: :fing:

I can certainly tell the difference between 1.5k at home and T1 at work. It's like going from dial up to 1.5 dsl.

I dunno if I'll switch for the $ but I am going in fri or sat for the dvr upgrade :bowdown:

Uncle Ben
03-15-2006, 09:41 AM
Ha ha ha...still waiting on my replacement modem but dang my dial up is wickedly fast! I got ya all beat (smaller numbers are best right?)

28 & 132 http://www.netshrine.com/vbulletin2/images/smilies/yeahdude.gif

Beater
03-15-2006, 10:57 AM
Ha ha ha...still waiting on my replacement modem but dang my dial up is wickedly fast! I got ya all beat (smaller numbers are best right?)

28 & 132 http://www.netshrine.com/vbulletin2/images/smilies/yeahdude.gif

speed scmeed.

It's all about the latency and handshakes...

Beater
03-15-2006, 11:20 AM
Hey this isn't fair. I went from 56K dial up (In reality 3.5 kB/S) to 1.5Mbit DSL last month and have found no difference in the DSL to our T1 at work. After a certain point, what's the difference?
I could give you about two hours explaination if you want... but it's really boring..