Rising Sun Member Forums

Rising Sun Member Forums (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/index.php)
-   General Chit Chat (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Adobe GoLive help.. (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/showthread.php?t=1016)

nakman 03-21-2006 09:13 AM

Adobe GoLive help..
 
Hey web dudes.. I'm using Adobe GoLive CS2 (newest release) to create and maintain an internal web site. I'm trying to add a search feature, where users can type in a key work, click search, then see some results. Is this beyond my capabilities here? Can't find anything in the book, or in the help file.

I'm a total drop & drag, wussy-wig, point & shoot web designer, so please keep that in mind. My alternate solution is to just install Google Desktop on everyone's machine.. any ideas?

sleeoffroad 03-21-2006 12:11 PM

http://www.marcreed.com/projects/sea...exer/tutorial/

Tim this is what I use. Most search programs requires you to run a indexer on the site and compile a database of words, and then the relative links. So when you search you hit the db and then the link is displayed in htm.

Hulk 03-21-2006 03:22 PM

You can also use Google to do this for you. Check out the code on the search box at the bottom of the Idea Shop home page:
Code:

<div align="center"> <br>

                <script type="text/javascript"><!--
                        function clearDefault(el) {
                                if (el.defaultValue==el.value) el.value = ""
                        }
                        //--></script>
                <form id="Search" action="http://www.google.com/search" method="get" name="Search">
                <span class="topCopySearch"><strong>SEARCH</strong></span>
                <input name="q" type="text" value="Search ideashop.com"
                class="MasterText" style="width:200px;font-size:1em;padding:2px;border:1px solid #6c3;color:#000;"
                onfocus="clearDefault(this)" />
                <input type="hidden" name="ie" value="UTF-8" />
                <input type="hidden" name="sitesearch" value="ideashop.com" />
            <input name="Submit" type="submit" class="MasterText" value="Go" />
    </form>
</div>


nakman 03-21-2006 04:47 PM

cool, thanks Matt. I pasted in your code, and now my internal web site will search Idea Shop. Any way to make Google index a site that's not on the internet? This is an internal "help file" that's not published on the web anywhere...

Christo I've downloaded yours, but need to wait for our administrator to install it before I can check it out. Sounds like a good deal at $30 though, thank you.

wesintl 03-21-2006 04:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nakman
cool, thanks Matt. I pasted in your code, and now my internal web site will search Idea Shop.

Tim...

Did you change the values?

value="ideashop.com"

:banghead: :comp: :headbang:

nakman 03-21-2006 04:59 PM

I didn't, I just assumed it wouldn't work. What value do I use for an internal file, can I use a file path?

Kipper 03-21-2006 05:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nakman
I didn't, I just assumed it wouldn't work. What value do I use for an internal file, can I use a file path?

Google won't work if the site isn't externally accessible, meaning the google spider can't crawl in through an open door, meaning i can't get to it right now, meaning no one but people on your intranet can get to it. :dunno:

nakman 03-21-2006 06:32 PM

Quote:

...won't work if the site isn't externally accessible...
That's what I figured, makes sense. thanks

wesintl 03-21-2006 07:02 PM

:brick:

Hulk 03-21-2006 10:46 PM

Sorry, poor reading skills on my part. If it's INTERNAL, the google solution won't do you any good.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.