Rising Sun Member Forums

Rising Sun Member Forums (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/index.php)
-   Ham & CB Radio Corner (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   SWR meter for Ham antenna (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/showthread.php?t=14741)

CardinalFJ60 12-22-2010 11:23 AM

SWR meter for Ham antenna
 
I've got an SWR/Field strength meter for my CB antenna, but I think that only goes to 30mhz. Anyone have one that'll be able to tune at 440?

I checked the price on those...the MFJ brand is like $400!

60wag 12-22-2010 11:33 AM

I killed a cb SWR meter trying to measure my ham rig. I think there is a power rating minimum as well as an appropriate freq range.

nakman 12-22-2010 11:33 AM

Hey what are you doing Sunday? I'm planning on dorking it up with one of our more respected geeks, and dialing in swr is on the agenda, wanna come over? There may be some 100 series chatter though, just warning you..

CardinalFJ60 12-22-2010 11:59 AM

damn.
 
I'll be at the inlaws for the weekend, bummer...there's nothing I'd like more than to listen to 100 series banter. (oh...my Cruiser is soooo quiet...and rides like a dream, blah, blah, blah...and capable all hell, blah, blah, blah...) ;) :lmao:

DaveInDenver 12-22-2010 12:53 PM

I have an antenna analyzer (MFJ-269) that does HF, VHF and UHF up to about 470MHz. After the new year I would be happy to help anyone tweak their antennas.

BTW, yes there are differences in SWR bridges in frequency range, power handling, etc. CB SWR meters usually work OK for ham HF (160m-10m) bands if you use very low power (10W or less). But if you run full power from a typical ham rig it's almost definitely going to kill it. If you run higher than about 30MHz into a CB SWR meter it's also not going to be happy. Remember 6m ham is about 50MHz, VHF around 145MHz and UHF around 450MHz. If you limit the power doing frequencies beyond the meter's range /might/ not ruin them but they aren't gonna work right.

CardinalFJ60 12-22-2010 03:58 PM

thanks for the offer!
 
Thanks Dave!

I think I'll take you up on that offer next year as I'm working out my antenna(s) setup for the 60. currently, I have the quad band diamond antenna that, combined with the location is only OK. I'm thinking of getting a duplexer or triplexer and doing a dual band on the roof (yikes!! might be cutting a hole!) and put a 6m antenna on my swingout for the rare occaisions I might want to play with that. even though my 8900r will do fm on 10m, I'm not quite there yet.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.